This is the homepage of archives and special collections at Lewis Library. From this page you can discover digitized archives, collections, and past and current exhibits, as well as information about archives and special collections mission and history.
The Suber Archivesserves as the official repository and institutional memory of LaGrange College by collecting, preserving, and making accessible the records and artifacts that provide evidence of past College history and contribute to an understanding of the College's structure and its historic past which began with the granting of its charter in 1831. It is the goal of the Suber Archives to provide access to these records while complying with our privacy and access policies. Please contact rmgreeff@lagrange.edu for more information.
We are located on the lower level of the Lewis Library in room 107. LaGrange College is located at 601 Broad Street, LaGrange, GA. There is ample, free visitor's parking in the clock tower parking lot, located across Vernon Street behind the library. We are available by appointment only during regular library hours, Monday-Friday, 9:00AM-5:00PM. If you have a specific request, please give us 2 weeks' notice so we can prepare for your visit. You will be requested to show ID and sign in when you arrive. All archival materials must be used under the supervision of the Archives Specialist in the Reading Room of the archives.
Other Useful Information
What is a Finding Aid? A Finding Aid is a tool that archivists create which contains a detailed guide describing the information contained in a specific collection. The Finding Aid assists the researcher in determining if the contents will be useful and relevant to his or her topic. Because the Suber Archives is a new department, not all collections have a Finding Aid at the present time, but as processing continues, they will be posted online.
Can I check out materials?Because most of our documents are unique, the materials in the Suber Archives cannot be checked out and must remain in the Archives. To view them, you will need to submit a request either by phone or e-mail requesting the materials you want to use so they will be available for you to view when you arrive. Please check out our Access policies in advance.
Can I make copies? Most people use their cell phones to make copies. We will scan up to 10 free copies and email them to you but there is a charge for requests over this amount as our server cannot accommodate large files.
Does the Suber Archives accept donations? Do you appraise items? We love donations and we have many wonderful things in our collections due to the generosity of our alumni and others. We do not accept everything since we may already have copies or there may not be enough room to store an item. However, please contact us and let us know what you want to donate so we can let you know if your donation will be accepted. The Suber Archives does not appraise items. See the Policies tab for what we collect and click on this link to find an appraiser.
Are there special rules when using the Archives? Only items needed to take notes are allowed in the Archives. Pencils only.Laptop computers are allowed, as are cell phones. Food and beverages are not permitted in the Archives. Place other personal property in the lockers. To keep the documents in order, researchers may use only one box from a collection at a time. Open only one folder at a time and please keep items in the same order in which you found them. Materials must be handled carefully and must be used flat on the table. Do not make any marks on materials or affix extraneous items such as Post-It notes. No books, papers, or other objects (except special weights used to hold materials flat) may be laid upon materials.
Useful links
Troup County Archives - The website allows researchers to browse the archives holdings in addition to viewing some photographs. However, a visit is necessary to view artifacts and documents. The Troup County Archives is located at 136 Main Street in LaGrange.
Hours: Monday-Friday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; 1st and 3rd Saturdays of the month: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The New Georgia Encyclopedia - Gives information about LaGrange and confines as well as a good history of LaGrange College
LaGrange College Alumni Association - The LaGrange College Alumni Association has its own Facebook page where you can keep track of your friends and other acquaintances.
Blog Posts
The Lewis Library staff occasionally writes and posts blogs on its home page. To go to a blog related to the Suber Archives and Special Collections, click on the links below.
Some rights reserved