--> Skip to main content

English Research Guide: Authors

This online guide contains helpful resources and tips to assist students taking English courses at LaGrange College with easier access to the library's materials.

DLB Access

Click the image or title (in blue) to visit the Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB):

More Multi-Volume Sets

Other multi-volume sets on authors include:

Your Librarian

Arthur Robinson's picture
Arthur Robinson
Contact:
Office 706-880-8289
Ref. Desk 706-880-8957

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)

The most complete source for biographical information on authors is the Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB), which has 384 volumes (as of February 2019).  Lewis Library has the complete set in PDF in the Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online database. To access this, use the link above, or go to the library home page and select "VIEW ALL DATABASES."

A list of the 76 DLB volumes we have in print, and their call numbers, is available in the back of volume 244 (REF PS 374 .S5 A398 2001), which also has an index of authors (through vol. 244).  But the DLB database includes all these and many more.

More Reference Books on Authors

We have many more reference books on authors in the reference section in the P’s (PR for British authors, PS for American authors, etc.).  The following is a partial list, indicating the range of nationalities, periods, genres, etc. covered. 

·         British Writers (REF PR 85 .B688, 18 volumes)

 

·         American Writers (REF PS 129 .A55, 22 volumes)

·         American Women Writers (REF PS 147 .A422 2000, 4 vols.)

·         African American Writers (REF PS 153 .N500 A344 2001, 2 vols.)

·         Southern Writers:  A New Biographical Dictionary (REF PS 261 .S595 2006)

·         Fifty Southern Writers Before 1900 (REF PS 261 .F543 1987)

·         Fifty Southern Writers After 1900 (REF PS 261 .F54 1987)

 

·         Ancient Writers, Greece and Rome (REF PA 3002 .Q5 1982, 2 vols.)

·         Latin American Writers (REF PQ 7081 .A1 L37 1989, 3 vols.)

·         Notable Latino Writers (REF PS 163 .H566 N68 2006)

·         Women Writers of Great Britain and Europe (REF PN 471 .W565 1997)

·         African Writers (REF PL 8010 .A453 1997, 2 vols.)

 

·         Contemporary Novelists (REF PR 883 .C64 1986)

·         Contemporary Poets (REF PR 603 .C600 2001)

·         Contemporary Dramatists (REF PR 737 .C577 1999)

·         Contemporary Southern Writers (REF PS 261 .C569 1999)

 

·         Supernatural Fiction Writers (REF PN 3435 .S966 2003, 2 vols.)

·         Mystery & Suspense Writers (REF PR 830 .D4 M97 1998, 2 vols.)

·         The Beat Generation (REF PS 228 .B600 Z68 2003, 3 vols.)

·         Graphic Novelists (REF NC 1305 .P46 2007)

 

 

We also have reference books on many individual authors, including Chaucer, Dante, Shakespeare, Milton, Faulkner, Robert Frost, and Flannery O’Connor.  See the reference librarian or check the online catalog for call numbers.

 

In addition, we have many circulating books and e-books on authors.  Again, consult the online catalog (do a “Subject” search for your author) or a librarian.  You can also consult the reference librarian to identify books on your author held by other libraries, which we can obtain on interlibrary loan.

Twayne Authors Series

The following nooks are in Twayne’s Authors series; some are fairly old (so they’re not up to date on current authors), but they provide useful background information on authors, an overview of their work, and comments on their individual works (look in the index for titles of short stories etc.). 

 

American author series (call number beginning PS):

  • Conrad Aiken (PS3501 .I5 Z68)
  • Edward Albee (PS3551 .L25 Z57)
  • Philip Barry (PS3503 .A648 Z85)
  • Donald Barthelme (PS3552 .A76 Z68)
  • Hamilton Basso (PS3503 .A8423 Z77)
  • Thomas Berger (PS3552 .E719 Z78 1989)
  • Elizabeth Bishop (PS3503 .I785 Z87)
  • Anne Bradstreet (call number PS712 .P5 1965)
  • Pearl S. Buck (PS3503 .U198 Z64)
  • James Branch Cabell (PS3505 .A153 Z62)
  • Raymond Carver (PS3553 .A7894 Z77 1994)
  • Willa Cather (PS3505 .A87 Z645)
  • Charles W. Chesnut (PS1292 .C6 Z85)
  • Kate Chopin (PS1294 .C63 S55 1985)
  • James Fenimore Cooper (PS1438 .R5)
  • Stephen Crane (PS1449 .C85 Z575)
  • Rachel Crothers (PS3505 .R895 Z68)
  • E.E. Cummings (PS3505 .U334 Z75)
  • Don DeLillo (PS3554 .E4425 Z74 1993)
  • E.L. Doctorow (PS3554 .O3 Z69 1990)
  • T.S. Eliot (PS3509 .L43 Z682)
  • Ralph Ellison (PS3555 .L625 Z6 1991)
  • Ralph Waldo Emerson (PS1631 .S68)
  • William Faulkner (PS3511 .A86 Z79 1966)
  • F. Scott Fitzgerald (PS3511 .I9 Z6)
  • Shelby Foote (PS3511 .O348 Z94 1982)
  • Harold Frederic (PS1708 .O3)
  • Robert Frost (PS3511 .R94 Z66)
  • Margaret Fuller (PS2506 .B7)
  • Zona Gale (PS3513 .A34 Z85)
  • Charlotte Perkins Gilman (PS1744 .G57 Z85 1985)
  • Allen Ginsberg (PS3513 .I74 Z8)
  • Ellen Glasgow (PS3513 .L34 Z79)
  • Susan Glaspell (PS3513 .L35 Z93)
  • Will N. Harben (PS1788 .H3 Z78)
  • Nathaniel Hawthorne (PS1881 .M28 1965)
  • William Dean Howells (PS2033 .K5)
  • Langston Hughes (PS3515 .U274 Z6)
  • William Inge (PS3517 .N265 Z87 1989, PS3517 .N265 Z87 1966)
  • Shirley Jackson (PS3519 .A392 Z65)
  • Robinson Jeffers (PS3519 .E27 Z575)
  • Sarah Orne Jewett (PS2133 .C3)
  • George S. Kaufman (PS3521 .A727 Z86 1988)
  • Jack Kerouac (PS3521 .E735 Z6328 1986)
  • Ursula K. Le Guin (PS3562 .E42 Z92 1984)
  • Denise Levertov (PS3562 .E88 Z9)
  • Sinclair Lewis (PS3523 .E94 Z575)
  • Jack London (Twayne Studies in Short Fiction, PS3523 .O46 Z866 1999)
  • H.P. Lovecraft (PS3523 .O833 Z566 1989)
  • Edgar Lee Masters (PS3525 .A83 Z88 1983, being repaired as of June 2019)
  • Peter Matthiessen (PS3563 .A8584 Z64 1991)
  • Carson McCullers (PS3525 .A1772 Z76 1980)
  • Herman Melville (PS2386 .H5 1963)
  • Margaret Mitchell (PS3525 .I972 Z68 1990)
  • William Vaughn Moody (PS2428 .H3)
  • Marianne Moore (PS3525 .O5616 Z65)
  • Petroleum V. Nasby (David Ross Locke) (PS2248 .L8 Z8)
  • Frank Norris (PS2473 .F7)
  • Tim O’Brien (PS3565 .B75 Z69 1997)
  • Flannery O’Connor (PS3565 .C57 Z93)
  • Eugene O’Neill (PS3529 .N5 Z578)
  • Joyce Carol Oates (PS3565 .A8 Z6)
  • Clifford Odets (PS3529 .D46 Z87)
  • John Dos Passos (PS3507 .O743 Z93 1962)
  • Sylvia Plath (PS3566 .L27 Z58 1978)
  • Edgar Allan Poe (PS2631 .B8 1961)
  • Katherine Anne Porter (PS3531 .O752 Z68)
  • Edward Arlington Robinson (PS3535 .O25 Z657)
  • J.D. Salinger (PS3537 .A426 Z6)
  • Edgar Saltus (PS2753 .S6)
  • Carl Sandburg (PS3537 .A618 Z555)
  • Anne Sexton (PS3537 .E915 Z69 1989)
  • Maurice Sendak (PS3569 .E6 Z89 1992)
  • Lee Smith (PS3569 .M5376 Z68 1991)
  • Edna St. Vincent Millay (PS3525 .I495 Z62)
  • John Steinbeck (PS3537 .T35 Z65 1975)
  • Wallace Stevens (PS3537 .T4753 Z6216; Wallace Stevens Revisited PS3537 .T4753 Z6777 1995)
  • Harriet Beecher Stowe (PS2956 .A6 1963)
  • James Thurber (PS3539 .H94 Z77)
  • Jean Toomer (PS3539 .O478 Z57)
  • Mark Twain (PS1338 .G47 1988)
  • John Updike (PS3571 .P4 Z76 1993; John Updike Revisited PS3571 .P4 Z873 1998)
  • Mercy Otis Warren (PS858 .W800 Z88 1995)
  • Robert Penn Warren (PS3545 .A748 Z6)
  • Eudora Welty:  A Study of the Short Fiction (PS3545 .E6 Z73 1997)
  • E.B. White (PS3545 .H523 Z9 1974)
  • John Greenleaf Whittier (PS3288 .L4 1962)
  • Richard Wilbur (PS3545 .I32165 Z69)
  • Thornton Wilder (PS3545 .I4 Z8 1961)
  • Tennessee Williams (PS3545 .I5365 Z64 1978)
  • William Carlos Williams (PS3545 .I544 Z94)
  • August Wilson (PS3573 .I456 Z96 1999)
  • Lanford Wilson (PS3573 .I458 Z59 1987)
  • Richard Wright (PS3545 .R815 Z6517)

British author series (call numbers beginning PR):

 

  • Dr. John Arbuthnot (PR3316 .A5 Z87)
  • R.D. Blackmore (PR4134 .S9)
  • Emily Brontë (PR4173 .V48 1998)
  • Rupert Brooke (PR6003 .R4 Z685 1994)
  • Robert Browning Revisited (PR4238 .R596 1996)
  • John Bunyan (PR3332 .S2 1979)
  • Thomas Carew (PR3339 .C2 Z79)
  • William Caxton (PR1848 .P4)
  • Susanna Centlivre (PR3339 .C6 L6 1979)
  • Agatha Christie (PR6005 .H66 Z95 1986)
  • Sir Winston Churchill (DA566.9 .C5 W367)
  • John Cleveland (PR3348 .C7 Z7)
  • Charles Dickens (PR4588 .N36)
  • John Donne (PR2248 .W28 1987)
  • Michael Drayton (PR2499 .D7 B4; Michael Drayton Revisited, PR2258 .B7 1990)
  • William Dunbar (PR2269 .R4 1979)
  • Henry Fielding (PR3457 .D55 1983)
  • Brian Friel (PR6056 .R5 Z84 1990)
  • Sir Samuel Garth (PR3471 .G3 C6)
  • W.S. Gilbert (PR4714 .S87)
  • Graham Greene (PR6013 .R44 Z632 1986)
  • Sir John Harrington (PR2285 .C7 1985)
  • A.E. Housman (PR4809 .H15 H25)
  • James Joyce (PR6019 .O9 Z715)
  • John Keats (PR4837 .H5 1981)
  • Jamaica Kincaid (PR 9275 .A583 K567 1994)
  • Andrew Lang (PR4877 .L3 1978)
  • T.E. Lawrence (PR6023 .A937 Z88)
  • C.S. Lewis (PR6023 .E926 Z64 1987)
  • Thomas Babbington Macaulay (PR4963 .C7 1978)
  • Thomas Middleton (PR2717 .B7)
  • John Milton:  The Prose Works (PR3592 .P7 C67 1998)
  • Thomas Nashe (PR2727 .M3 1981)
  • George Peele (PR2737 .B7 1983)
  • Thomas Percy (PR29 .P4 D38)
  • Harold Pinter (PR6066 .I53 Z675)
  • Arthur Ransome (PR6035 .A63 Z65 1991)
  • Peter Shaffer (PR6037 .H23 Z7 1993)
  • George Bernard Shaw (PR5367 .H5 1978)
  • Mary Shelley (PR5398 .W3)
  • C.P. Snow (PR6037 .N588 Z87 1991)
  • Muriel Spark (PR6037 .P299 Z96 1988)
  • Edmund Spenser (PR2364 .O78 1997)
  • William Makepeace Thackeray (PR5638 .F47 1983)
  • James Thornton (PR3733 .C3)
  • Izaak Walton (PR3757 .W6 Z88 1998)
  • John Webster (PR3187 .R3 1989)

 

Others:

 

  • Isabel Allende (PQ8098.1 .L54 Z72 2002)
  • Jorge Armado (PQ9697 .A647 Z585 1990)
  • Lancelot Andrews (call number BV4208 .G7 O79)
  • Emilio Carballido (PQ7297 .C2482 Z8)
  • Cervantes (PQ6337 .D84)
  • William Ellery Channing (BX9869 .C4 B86 1962)
  • Pierre Corneille (PQ1772 .A54 1972)
  • Pedro Antonio de Alarcón (PQ6502 .Z5 D4)
  • Tristan Corbière (PQ2211 .C32 Z788)
  • Machado de Assis (PQ9697 .M18 Z633 1989)
  • Villiers de l’Isle-Adam (PQ2476 .V4 Z559)
  • Mademoiselle de Scudéry (PQ1922 .Z5 A83)
  • Fénelon (PQ1796 .D3)
  • Nadine Gordimer Revisited (PR9369.3 .G600 Z89 1999)
  • Maxim Gorky (PG3465 .S344 1988)
  • Hermann Hesse (PT2617 .E85 Z693)
  • Tristan L’Hermite (PQ1929 .Z8 A624)
  • Osip Mandelstam (PG3476 .M355 Z7 1988)
  • Gabriel García Márquez (PQ8180.17 .A73 Z95 1984)
  • Richard Mather (BX7260 .M368 B86 1982)
  • Juan Rulfo (PQ7297 .R89 Z75 1983)
  • Léopold Sédar Sengar (PQ3989 .S47 Z89 1985)
  • Stendhal (STORAGE PQ2436 .G8 1971)
  • Edward Taylor (BX7260 .T28 G7 1962)
  • Emile Zola Revisited (PQ2538 .B455 1992)

© 2011 LaGrange College | 601 Broad Street, LaGrange, GA 30240 | www.lagrange.edu
Default/main header image used:Attribution Some rights reserved