HIST 3361 England to 1680: PRIMARY SOURCES

This selection of documents offers an insight into the Norman Conquest of England from a variety of perspectives. It is divided into four parts, each dealing with evidence of a different kind: literary and narrative sources (including Norman, Old English and Anglo-Norman texts); documentary sources, such as charters, writs and leases; letters; and the art of the period, principally, though not exclusively, from the Bayeux Tapestry. Both Anglo-Saxon and Norman England are represented, and Normandy itself is the subject of one section. R. Allen Brown's general introduction supplies a broad context for the material, and commentaries are provided with the documents where necessary, explaining points of particular significance, while a select bibliography gives suggestions for further reading. All documents are provided in translation. Reprint; first published in 1984. R. ALLEN BROWNwas professor of history at King's College, London, and founder of the annual Battle conference on Anglo-Norman studies. . . .

This is the first comprehensive study of the 1279-80 hundred rolls, one of the most important sources for later thirteenth century England. Raban puts the rolls in their historical context, looks at the way in which the inquiry was conducted and questions whether or not it was conceived as a second Domesday.

Takes its place as perhaps the finest available study of a house for women religious. ENGLISH HISTORICAL REVIEW The fifteenth-century cartulary of the Benedictine nunnery of Chatteris Abbey in Cambridgeshire (founded in the early eleventh century) has important implications for the study of women religious, especially in the light of the small number of surviving cartularies from English nunneries, yet until now it has received little attention, perhaps due to its damage in the Cotton Library fire of 1731. This critical edition of the manuscript, which contains documents copied into it from the mid-twelfth to the fifteenth centuries, offers a full transcription, together with historical notes and apparatus. The introduction draws on the cartulary itself, as well as manorial and episcopal records, to analyse the nunnery's relationship with its patron, the bishop of Ely, and the development and management of its estates; it also examines the location and layout of the abbey, the social and geographical origins of the nuns, and the production and organisation of the cartulary. The edition is accompanied by an annotated list of all known abbesses, prioresses and nuns. CLAIRE BREAYgained her Ph.D. at the Institute for Historical Research at the University of London; she is currently a curator of medieval manuscripts at the British Library. l origins of the nuns, and the production and organisation of the cartulary. The edition is accompanied by an annotated list of all known abbesses, prioresses and nuns. CLAIRE BREAYgained her Ph.D. at the Institute for Historical Research at the University of London; she is currently a curator of medieval manuscripts at the British Library. l origins of the nuns, and the production and organisation of the cartulary. The edition is accompanied by an annotated list of all known abbesses, prioresses and nuns. CLAIRE BREAYgained her Ph.D. at the Institute for Historical Research at the University of London; she is currently a curator of medieval manuscripts at the British Library. l origins of the nuns, and the production and organisation of the cartulary. The edition is accompanied by an annotated list of all known abbesses, prioresses and nuns. CLAIRE BREAYgained her Ph.D. at the Institute for Historical Research at the University of London; she is currently a curator of medieval manuscripts at the British Library.

This book is a continuation of The Heads of Religious Houses: England and Wales 940–1216, edited by David Knowles, C. N. L. Brooke and Vera London, which itself is reissued with substantial addenda by Professor Brooke. This present volume continues the lists from 1216 to 1377. In this period further record sources have been provided by episcopal registers, governmental enrolments, court records, and so on. Full references are given for establishing the dates and outline of the career of each abbot or prior, abbess or prioress, when known. The lists are arranged by order: the Benedictine houses (independent, dependencies and alien priories); the Cluniacs; the Grandmontines; the Cistercians; the Carthusians; the Augustinian canons; the Premonstratensians; the Gilbertine order; the Trinitarian houses; the Bonhommes; and the nuns.

The collection of fifteenth-century letters printed here for the first time stands alongside the Paston and Stonor correspondence in its intrinsic interest and the light it sheds on contemporary gentry life. Edited from a recently discovered manuscript in Chetham's Library, Manchester (Mun.E.6.10 (4)), the letters deal largely with the prolonged dispute over the Brokholes inheritance in Warwickshire, Hertfordshire, and Essex, and are concerned principally with the affairs of one of the claimants, Joan Armburgh, and her husband Robert. The material mostly derives from the period c.1420-50, one of growing unease in national politics, which the letters reflect; but they are more concerned with affairs closer to home, and provide fascinating insights on local politics, the networks of "bastard feudalism" which bound the gentry to their lords and to each other, on the impact of lengthy litigation on a gentry family (especially its finances), and, more generally, on the management of their lands and business affairs. The startlingly vivid language of some of the less formal entries brings the writers strikingly to life. Professor CHRISTINE CARPENTER is Reader in Medieval English History at Cambridge University. s. The startlingly vivid language of some of the less formal entries brings the writers strikingly to life. Professor CHRISTINE CARPENTER is Reader in Medieval English History at Cambridge University. s. The startlingly vivid language of some of the less formal entries brings the writers strikingly to life. Professor CHRISTINE CARPENTER is Reader in Medieval English History at Cambridge University. s. The startlingly vivid language of some of the less formal entries brings the writers strikingly to life. Professor CHRISTINE CARPENTER is Reader in Medieval English History at Cambridge University.

Covers the interplay between religion, politics, society and popular culture in the Tudor and Stuart periods.

Bibliography p. 191-194

Added title: Documents of Medieval England
Added title: History of civilization in medieval England, 1066-1500

Contents includes: Bede's Ecclesiastical History; The Anglo-Saxon Chronicle; Anglo-Saxon Dooms of Wihtred and Alfred; the Bayeux Tapestry; Domesday Book; "establishment of the King's Household c.1135; Magna Carta 1215; Knighton's Chronicle of the Black Death, 1348-1350; Thomas More's Utopia 1516; Elizabeth I's "Golden Speech" 1601; and much, much more.

Includes an extensive bibliography p. 117-198.

v.1 c500-1042
v.2 1042-1189

(1) An anthology of original accounts written before 1485
(2) An anthology of original accounts written between 1485 and 1700.

Includes bibliographical references.

Many books have examined the circumstances surrounding King John s grant of Magna Carta in 1215. Very few trace the Charter s legacy to subsequent centuries and even fewer look at the fate of the physical document.

This description of the City of London, its topography, monuments, trades, industries and population, is a vivid eye-witness account by one of its citizens who records the daily life and urban pastimes of its people. It was written sometime before 1183 and stands almost unique among medieval texts for its attention to the sounds, smells and sights of a cityscape.

Among the most evocative items to be discovered by archaeologists are the scraps of silk and wool and other fabrics that signal so eloquently their owner's status and concerns. Such clothing and textile finds have figured prominently in excavations of medieval sites in London in the past two decades; they have included knitting, tapestries, silk hair-nets and elaborately patterned oriental, Islamic and Italian fabrics, which reveal for the first time the wide range of cloths available to medieval Londoners;

A revised translation.
Bibliography p. xxv - xxix

Includes bibliographical references.

Bibliographical footnotes.

Includes a bibliography p. xxix - xxxiv

Within three generations (1426 to 1485), and through the dark anddangerous years of the Wars of the Roses, the Pastons establishedthemselves as a family of consequence, both in their native Norfolk and within court circles. Ambitious and highly mobile - womenfolk as wellas men - they kept in touch by correspondence, usually but notinvariably through the medium of a clerk. These letters, a raresurvival, break upon us across the centuries with the urgency, andsometimes the violence, of their preoccupations: defending property,fighting court cases, making the right alliances, and, on the domesticside, managing their estates, conducting their courtships, stockingtheir cupboards. Selected and presented here with Richard Barber'sinvaluable linking narrative, they bring the middle ages triumphantlyto life.

Rebecca Totaro takes the reader into the world of plague-riddled Elizabethan England, documenting the development of distinct sub-genres related to the plague and providing unprecedented access to important original sources of early modern plague writing. The plague orders of Queen Elizabeth I highlight the community-wide attempts to combat the plague and deal with its manifold dilemmas. And after a plague bill from the Corporation of London, the collection ends with Thomas Dekker's The Wonderful Year, which illustrates plague literature as it was fully formed, combining attitudes toward the plague from both the Eizabethan and Stuart periods.

Bibliography p. 511-516

Includes an introduction to the following topics: The English Conquest; The Heptarchy; The Viking Age; The Kingdom of England; The Government and society; and The Church.

Also includes a bibliography.

Primary sources are many including: Secular Narrative Sources; Charters and Laws; Ecclesiastical Sources; and Maps. Included is an index to texts and full table of contents.

Spanning the different phases of the English Reformation from William Tyndale's 1525 translation of the Bible to the death of Elizabeth I in 1603, John King's magisterial anthology brings together a range of texts inaccessible in standard collections of early modern works. The readings demonstrate how Reformation ideas and concerns pervade well-known writings by Spenser, Shakespeare, Sidney, and Marlowe and help foreground such issues as the relationship between church and state, the status of women, and resistance to unjust authority.

Includes an introduction to the following topics: The English Conquest; The Heptarchy; The Viking Age; The Kingdom of England; The Government and society; and The Church.

Also includes a bibliography.

Primary sources are many including: Secular Narrative Sources; Charters and Laws; Ecclesiastical Sources; and Maps. Included is an index to texts and full table of contents.