--> Skip to main content

History of England (Part I): Quick Links

Quick Links

This page provides links to some electronic resources that will be useful for Dr. Shirley’s History of England to 1689 course (Spring 2017).  You’ll find a similar page in the library guide for the Senior Seminar, but this page is course-specific.

This page was created in February 2017; the rest of the History of England library guide was created a few years ago by Loren Pinkerman, the former Director of Lewis Library.  It contains more useful resources, print and electronic; this page is designed as a "quick and dirty" time-saver. 

See the reference librarian for assistance or if you have questions (you can also e-mail arobinson@lagrange.edu or  refdesk@lagrange.edu).

Required Texts available online

Clanchy, M.T.  England and Its Rulers, 1066-1307.  4th edition.  Chichester, West Sussex, UK ; Malden, MA : John Wiley & Sons Ltd, 2014

Brown, R. Allen.  The Norman Conquest of England:  Sources and Documents.  Woodbridge, Suffolk, UK:  Boydell Press, 1995.

 

Web sites recommended by Dr. Shirley:

Internet Medieval Sourcebook   

Internet Modern History Sourcebook   

 

Required texts in print in the library:

English Historical Documents, vols. 1-5: on reserve at the circulation desk (call number DA 26 .E56)

Turabian, Kate L.  A Manual for Writers of Research papers, Theses, and Dissertations.  8th ed.  In the Reference section (REF LB 2369 .T8 2013)

More books

Use the library catalog for books, NetLibrary e-books, videos, and CDs.

You can look for ebrary e-books here (or go to the library home page and select “Find eBooks”).

 

​Haskins Society Journal – Studies in Medieval Literature:  We have e-books for volume 1 (1989) and volume 3.  We also have some volumes on the lower level (DA130 .H244, vols. 4-6, 9, 11, 14)

 

WorldCat – will help you identify books in other libraries.  If you see books you want to order on interlibrary loan, please paste the citations into an e-mail and send them to me at arobinson@lagrange.edu .

Reference databases

Gale Virtual Reference Library – PDF full text for several multi-volume reference books.  GVRL includes Women in World History (17 vols., 2002), Encyclopedia of Religion (15 vols. 2005), and The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Medieval Life and Culture (3 vols., 2009).

 

Oxford Reference Online – aside from Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages and  Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology (2010), mainly single-volume reference books, including A Dictionary of British History (3rd ed. 2016), Oxford Companion to British History (2nd ed. 2015), and The Kings and Queens of Britain (2nd ed. 2015).

 

Dictionary of Literary Biography – excellent source for information on authors.  378 volumes as of February 2017.

Journal articles

Databases for history include:

  • JSTOR – PDF full text for many scholarly journals up to about 5 years ago
  • Project Muse – full text for scholarly journals, including some in History
  • Historical Abstracts – good for European history, especially from 1450 on
  • Academic Search Complete – covers all disciplines; has many good History journals, but also magazines.  If you use this database for this course, click the box to limit your search to “Scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals.”

 

 If you have a citation for a journal article but no full text:

More links

You may want to look at other guides, including our Reference guide, which includes information on:

Database basics - Most databases don't work like Google

Boolean operators - how to use AND, OR, NOT

Biographical resources 

Interlibrary loan 

 

© 2011 LaGrange College | 601 Broad Street, LaGrange, GA 30240 | www.lagrange.edu
Default/main header image used:Attribution Some rights reserved