--> Skip to main content

HIST 1101: World Civilization I (To-1660): Reference Sources

An online research guide for students enrolled in World Civilization 1 at LaGrange College. Features recommended resources and tips for accessing library materials related to this course.

Recommended REF Books

Use this list of recommended books to assist you in locating good Print Reference sources in the library. Write down the call number, and use the image of the item to find these books more quickly on the shelves!

Electronic Reference Sources

CREDO Reference Online:

CREDO can be accessed directly from the library’s Home Page or through GALILEO

NOTE:  The tab, “Find Topic Pages,” may be useful for exploring topics.  Topic pages include links to articles, images & maps, and links to JSTOR.  They also include links to videos on YouTube as well as links to Wikimedia Commons for images.

Selected reference titles within CREDO include:

  • Concise Atlas of World History
  • Encyclopedia of African History
  • Encyclopedia of World History
  • Chambers Dictionary of World History
  • The Reader’s Companion to Military History
  • Hutchinson Chronology of World History

CREDO provides a direct link to Oxford Reference Online.  Selected
reference titles included are:

  • The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
  • The Oxford Companion to Military History
  • The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
  • A Dictionary of World History

More Recommended Print Reference Sources

All of the following titles are reference books, located on the main (2nd) floor of Lewis Library, in the Reference section:

  • Dictionary of World History                         
    • REF D9 .D53 2006
  • Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History    
    • REF D23 .B45 2005
  • Encyclopedia Judaica                                    
    • REF DS102.8 .E496
  • Encyclopedia Americana                               
    • REF AE5 .E333 2003
  • New Catholic Encyclopedia                          
    • REF BX841 .C255 2002
  • Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World                   
    • REF D209 .E977 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Modern Asia                        
    • REF DS4 .L488 2002
  • Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara
    • REF DT351 .E53 1997
  • Magill’s Guide to Military History                
    • REF D25 .A200 M34 2001
  • Milestone Documents in World History       
    • REF D5 .M53 2010
© 2011 LaGrange College | 601 Broad Street, LaGrange, GA 30240 | www.lagrange.edu
Default/main header image used:Attribution Some rights reserved