--> Skip to main content

Art & Design: Animation

An online guide containing resources for students enrolled in Art & Design courses at LaGrange College.

The Animator's Survival Kit

Especially recommended by Mr. Waller:

 The Animator's Survival Kit, with Richard Williams.  This 16-disc set is in Multimedia Reserve (call number DVD NC1765 .W55 2008).  It's restricted to in-library use, but you can request it at the circulation desk and view it in the library, in the Media Lounge (Lewis 309) or on a computer (you can also check out headphones at the circulation desk).

DVDs

Documentaries on animation:

 

Chuck Jones:  Extremes and In-betweens:  A Life in Animation (DVD NC1766 .U52 J663 2002)

The Origins of Film (DVD PN1993.5 .U6 O75 2001, 3 discs; disc 2 "Origins of American Animation: 21 complete classics (1900-1921): Krazy Kat, Bobby Bumps and more")

Waking Sleeping Beauty.  (DVD PN1999 .W27 O53 2006; covers the revival of animation at Disney with The Little Mermaid, etc.; interviews with animators and directors)

 

Feature films include the following (mostly in the DVD PN 1997 area; some of these have special features that include the animation process, interviews with the animators, etc.):

 

Big Hero 6 (DVD PN 1997 .B544 2015)

Boxtrolls (DVD PN1997 .B688 2015)

Coraline (DVD PN 1997 .C721 2009)

Corpse Bride (DVD PN 1997 .C7216 2006)

Frankenweenie (DVD PN 1997 .F724 2013)

How to Train Your Dragon 2 (PN 1997 .H858 2014)

Idiots and Angels (Bill Plympton) (DVD PN 1997 .I429 2011)

Tim Burton's The Nightmare before Christmas (DVD PN 1997 .N584 2013)

ParaNorman (DVD PN 1997 .P229 2012)

Persepolis (DVD PN1997 .P417 2008)

The Pirates:  Band of Misfits (DVD PN 1997 .P5215 2012)

Shrek (DVD PN1997 .S564 2011)

Song of the Sea (DVD PN 1997 .S6795 2015)

Sukai kurora  (DVD PN1997.3 .S581 2009) (Note:  "Includes special features: Animation Research - follow the filmmakers and animators as they travel to Poland to seek inspiration for their work; Sound design and animation of The Sky Crawlers.")

The Tale of the Princess Kaguya (DVD PN1997 .T265 2015)

Walking Life  (DVD PN1997 .W185 2002) (special features include "audio commentary with 25+ animators addressing the animation work...")

 

Disney films:

 

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (DVD PN1997 .S666 2001)

Fantasia (DVD PN1997 .F300 2000)

Cinderella (DVD PN1997 .C498 2012)

The Little Mermaid (DVD PN1997 .L551 2006)

Beauty and the Beast (DVD PN1997 .B383 2010)

Aladdin (DVD PN1997 .A395 2004)

The Lion King (DVD PN1997 .L549 2003)

The Hunchback of Notre Dame (DVD PN 1997 .H886 2002d)

Tarzan (DVD PN1997 .T374 1999)

Toy Story (DVD PN1997 .T762 2010), Toy Story 2 (DVD PN1997 .T763 2010), Toy Story 3 (DVD PN1997 .T764 2010)

Frozen (DVD PN1997 .F815 2014)

Moana (DVD PN1997 .M648 2017)

 

Aardman films:

 

Creature Comforts (DVD PN1997 .C793 2006)

A Grand Day Out (DVD PN1997 .W2546 2009)

The Wrong Trousers (DVD PN1997 .W2548 2009)

A Close Shave (DVD PN1997 .W2542 2009)

The Curse of the Were-rabbit (DVD PN1997 .W2543 2006)

A Matter of Loaf and Death (DVD PN1997 .W2547 2009)

Chicken Run (DVD PN1997 .C446 2000)

Shaun the Sheep:  Little Sheep of Horrors (DVD PN1997 .L659 2009)

Reference Books

Reference books on the main level:

 

Clements, The Anime Encyclopedia: A Guide to Japanese Animation since 1917 (call number REF NC1766 .J3 C53 2006)

Graphic Novelists (REF NC 1305 .P46 2007; index lists sections covering animation and anime)

The Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (2nd ed. 2013 available in Gale Virtual Reference Library; we also have the 1st ed. in print, REF E 169.1 .S764 1999).  Articles include "Animated Films," Disney, Steamboat Willie, Snow White, Fantasia, The Three Caballeros, The Lion King, Toy Story, Tex Avery, Bugs Bunny, Road Runner and Wile E. Coyote, The Simpsons, etc.)

E-Books

Mr. Waller recommends the following e-book as especially important for stop-motion animation:

 

Priebe, Ken. The Advanced Art of Stop-Motion Animation (2011)

*Please click on “Read Online” rather than “Full Download.”

E-Books

Other e-books in our collection include the following; you can access them through our online catalog.

Abraham, Adam.  When Magoo Flew:  The Rise and Fall of Animation Studio UPA.  (Wesleyan University Press, 2012)

Beck, Jerry.  The Animated Movie Guide.  (Chicago Review, 2005)

Booker, M. Keith.  Disney, Pixar, and the Hidden Messages of Children's Films.  (Praeger, 2010)

Borowiec, Piotr.  Animated Short Films:  A Critical Index to Theatrical Cartoons.  (Scarecrow Press, 1998)

Brown, Steven T.  Cinema Anime:  Critical Engagements with Japanese Animation.  (Palgrave Macmillan, 2006)

Caldwell, Sara C.  Jumpstart Your Awesome Film Production Company.  (Allworth Press, 2005; includes chapter "Not Short on Style--Bill Plympton, Plymptoons")

Kenner, Hugh.  Chuck Jones:  A Flurry of Drawings.  (U of California Press, 1994)

LaMarre, Thomas.  The Anime Machine:  A Media Theory of Animation.  (University of Minnesota Press, 2009)

Murray, Robin L.  That’s All Folks?:  Ecocritical Readings of American Animated Features.  U of Nebraska Press, 2011.  (Includes a chapter on Rankin/Bass)

Peri, Don.  Working with Disney:  Interviews with Animators, Producers, and Artists (UP of Mississippi, 2011)

Perkins, Todd E.  Flash Professional CS5 Bible.  (Wiley, 2010)

Priebe, Ken A.  The Advanced Art of Stop-Motion Animation.  (2011)

Robinson, Chris.  Animators Unearthed:  A Guide to the Best of Contemporary Animation. (Continuum 2010)

Smith, Mark Stephen.  The Art of Flash Animation:  Creative Cartooning.  (Wordware Pub., 2007)

Steinberg, Marc.  Anime's Media Mix:  Franchising Toys and Characters in Japan.  (University of Minnesota Press, 2012)

Telotte, J.P.  Animating Space:  from Mickey to WALL-E.  (University Press of Kentucky, 2010)

 

Welcome!

Welcome!

 

Lewis Library has plenty of books and DVDs for the new concentration in Animation.  This guide lists some of them, many requested by Al Waller, the instructor.  Please ask the reference librarian if you need help finding anything, or want to order a book on interlibrary loan

Books

Available for checkout, on the upper level (most are in the NC 1765-1766 area):

Other Books in the collection

-       Alger, Jed.  The Art and Making of ParaNorman.  (NC 1766 .U53 P373 2012)

-       Bancroft, Tom.  Character Mentor.  (NC 825 .C43 B355 2012)

·       Condry, Ian.  The Soul of Anime: Collaborative Creativity and Japan's Media Success Story.  (NC1766 .J3 C57 2013)

·       Drazen, Patrick.  Anime Explosion!:  The What? Why? & Wow! of Japanese Animation.  (NC 1766 .J300 D73 2003)

·       Fleischer, Richard. Out of the Inkwell:  Max Fleischer and the Animation Revolution (University Press of Kentucky, 2005) (NC 1766 .U52 F5834 2005)

·       Fraioli, James.  Storyboarding 101: a Crash Course in Professional Storyboarding (NC1002 .S855 F73 2000)

-       Furness, Maureen.  A New History of Animation.  (NC 1765 .F873 2016)

-      Harryhausen, Ray, and Tony Dalton.  The Art of Ray Harryhausen.  (NC 1766 .U62 H37 2005)

·       Jones, Chuck et al.  Chuck Jones:  Conversations.  (NC1766 .U52 J66 2005)

-       Maclean, Fraser.  Setting the Scene:  The Art and Evolution of the Animation Layout.  (NC 1765 .M28 2011)

·       Napier, Susa.  Anime from Akira to Howl's Moving Castle:  Experiencing Contemporary Japanese Animation (NC 1766 .N36 2005)

·       Polson, Tod.  The Noble Approach:  Maurice Noble and the Zen of Animation Design.  (NC 1766 .U52 N637 2013)

·       Price, David.  The Pixar Touch: the Making of a Company.  (NC1766 .U52 P75 2009)

·       Stanchfield, Walt.  Drawn to Life: 20 Golden Years of Disney Master Classes. (NC1765 .S67 2009, 2 vols.)

·       Thomas, Frank.  An American Original:  Walt Disney.  (NC 1766 .U522 D569 1994)

·       Thomas, Frank.  The Illusion of Life: Disney Animation. (NC1766 .U52 D58 1995)

-       Tillman, Bryan.  Creative Character Design.  (NC 825 .C43 T55 2011)

·       Wands, Bruce.  Art of the Digital Age.  (N 7433.8 .W365 2006; chapter on "Digital Animation and Video")

·       White, Tony.  How to Make Animated Films:  Tony White's Complete Masterclass on the Traditional Principles of Animation.  (NC 1765 .W49 2009)

·       Williams, Richard.  The Animator's Survival Kit.  (expanded ed., NC1765 .W55 2009B)

·       Yokota, Masao.  Japanese Animation: East Asian Perspectives.  (NC1766 .J3 J37 2013)

 

·       Cavalier, Stephen. The World History of Animation.  (call number TR897.5 .C38 2011)

·       Georgenes, Chris.  How to Cheat in Adobe Flash CS6:  The Art of Design and Animation.  (TR 897.7 .G46 2013)

·       Jackson, Chris.  Flash + After Effects:  Add Broadcast Features to Your Flash Designs.  (TR 858 .J337 2010)

·       Jackson, Chris.  Flash Cinematic Techniques:  Enhanced Animated Shorts and Interactive Storytelling.  (TR 897.7 .J33 2010)

·       Laybourne, Kit.  The Animation Book:  a Complete Guide to Animated Filmmaking--from Flip-books to Sound Cartoons to 3-D Animation.  (TR897.5 .L39 1998)

·       Leslie, Esther.  Hollywood Flatlands:  Animation, Critical Theory and the Avant-Garde (TR 897.5 .L477 2002)

·       Lord, Peter.  Cracking Animation.  (3rd ed., TR897.5 .L67 2010)

·       Shaw, Susannah.  Stop Motion:  Craft Skills for Model Animation.  (TR 897.5 .S533 2008)

·       Sito, Tom.  Moving Innovation: a History of Computer Animation (TR897.7 .S48 2013)

·       Webster, Chris.  Action Analysis for Animators.  (TR 897.5 .W428 2012)

·       Whitaker, Harold & John Halas.  Timing for Animation (2nd ed.).  (TR 897.5 .W63 2009)

·       White, Tony.  Animation from Pencils to Pixels:  Classical Techniques for Digital Animators.  (TR 897.7 .W65 2006)

·       Wyatt, Andy.  The Complete Digital Animation Course:  Principles, Practice, and Techniques:  A Practical Guide for Aspiring Animators.  (TR 897.7 .W93 2010)

 

Books on Stop-motion Animation (Upper Level):

  • Brierton, Tom.  Stop-motion Armature Machining:  A Construction Manual.  (TR 897.5 .B75 2002)
  • Purves, Barry.  Stop-motion Animation:  Frame by Frame Film-making with Puppets and Models (TR 897.6 P87 2014)
  • Purves, Barry.  Stop Motion:  Passion, Process and Performance  (TR 897.5 .P87 2010)
  • Sawicki, Mark.  Animating with Stop Motion Pro.  (TR 897.7 .S3665 2010)
  • Shaw, Susannah.  Stop Motion:  Craft Skills for Model Animation.  (TR 897.5 .S533 2008)

On the lower level:

 

·       Aldrich, Robert.  Who the Devil Made It... (conversations with Chuck Jones, etc.) (PN1995.9 .P7 W48)

-       Brotherton, Philip.  The Art of the Boxtrolls.  (PN 1997.2 .B68 B76 2014)

·       Glebas, Francis.  Directing the Story: Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation.  (PN1995.9 .P7 G448 2009)

·       Hart, John.  The Art of the Storyboard: a Filmmaker's Introduction.  (PN1995.9 .P7 H42 2008)

·       Kaufman, J.B.  Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs: the Art and Creation of Walt Disney's Classic Animated Film.  (PN1997.S6163 K384 2012)

·       McKee, Robert.  Story:  Substance, Structure, Style, and the Principles of Screenwriting.  (PN 1996 .M465 1997)

-       Murray, Joe.  Creating Animated Cartoons with Character.  (PN 1992.8 .A59 M87 2010)

·       Perlmutter, David.  America Toons In: a History of Television Animation PN1992.8 .A59 P47 2014

·       Plympton, Bill.  Independently Animated:  Bill Plympton.  (PN 6727 .P59 Z46 2011)

-       Sibley, Brian.  Chicken Run:  Hatching the Movie.  (PN 1997 .C464235 S57 2000)

·       Sullivan, Karen et al.  Ideas for the Animated Short:  Finding and Building Stories.  (PN 1997.5 .S85 2013)

Journals and Magazines

We began subscribing to Animation Magazine in 2015; you’ll find it on the upper level in the Art area.  We also have this magazine in PDF full text back to January 2001 in the Omnifile Full Text Select database.

We also have the International Journal of Computer Graphics & Animation in PDF from 2011 to the present, and AnimationXpress since June 2009, in Research Library (ProQuest).

 If you want to browse issues of a journal or magazine, access the Journal Locator database and type the journal title in the “Search” box.

© 2011 LaGrange College | 601 Broad Street, LaGrange, GA 30240 | www.lagrange.edu
Default/main header image used:Attribution Some rights reserved