LibGuides: Theatre Arts: A Chorus Line, 2014

Library Resources

These are all on the upper level of Lewis Library unless indicated. Ask a librarian for assistance in locating them (we can check whether they're still on the shelf or have been checked out).

Libretto of A Chorus Line - call number ML50 .H2397 C5 1995

Vocal score of A Chorus Line - M1503 .H2232 C5 1977

CD of A Chorus Line - CD M1505 .B477 C59 1997

Books that cover this show include:

Mandelbaum, Ken. A Chorus Line and the Musicals of Michael Bennett. (PN2287 .B4323 M36 1989, on Lower Level)

Viagas, Robert. On the Line: The Creation of A Chorus Line. (ML410 .H1745 V5 1990)

Mordden, Ethan. One More Kiss: The Broadway Musical in the 1970s. (ML 1711.8 .M783 2003, pages 217-222)

Jackson, Arthur. The Best Musicals from Show Boat to A Chorus Line. (ML1950 .J22)

For other books, see the reference librarian.

Databases

For articles on A Chorus Line, try the International Bibliography of Theater & Dance database (link located below), which includes full text for:

A review of the 1975 Broadway production (Nation, June 14, 1975)

An article from the January 2013 Dance Today about the show's enduring popularity

A panel discussion with members of the design team from the original production (from Entertainment Design, March 1999)

You may also want to look in newspaper databases such as ProQuest Newspapers, link located below.

We have more articles in our bound periodicals on the lower level, including a cover story from Newsweek (Dec. 1, 1975, pp. 66-70) and a review in the New Yorker (June 2, 1975, p 84). A librarian can help you find these and more.

If you're interested in musical theatre, see our library guide for the program.

International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text (IBTD) This link opens in a new window
Articles, theater, performing arts
News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Newspapers offers international, national, regional, and local papers including The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Detailed indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas and provides access to detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.

Showtimes

A Chorus Line will be performed at Price Theatre on:

October 16, 17, 18, 23, 24, and 25, 2014, at 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, October 19, 2014, at 2:30 p.m.

Synopsis

A Chorus Line, a musical with music by Marvin Hamlisch, lyrics by Edward Kleban, and book by James Kirkwood and Nicholas Dante, opened on Broadway on 25 July 1975 and ran until April 1990, for a total of 6137 performances, winning both the Tony Award for best musical and the Pulitzer Prize for drama.

Watch the following video about the LaGrange College production. For more details, see the @ LaGrange Newsletter article by Debbie Baker.