LibGuides: Virology: Virology

Articles & Databases

Click on the little "i" for TIPS on how to use these databases. Click on the database title (in blue) to access:

MEDLINE (at EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This is a database with clinical medicine focus (similar content to PubMed, but better indexing features, and available full text content) . TIP: Browse in the MeSH subject heading list for your virus, disease, or topic.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An index found in GALILEO which Includes Journals and reference books for the Health and Life Sciences. Though not all of these articles will be in full text, we have a way to obtain many of them quickly. Email Ms. Dabbs, or ask a Librarian for assistance if you identify an article you need. TIP:
Use the ‘advanced search’ feature and limit 'Source' to 'Subscribed Sources' to limit to materials for which full text is present in the database.
Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of a variety of scientific topics.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

Electronic Journals

Virology Journal
Open access journal from BioMed Central
Journal of Virology
From the American Society for Microbiology. Some issues available as open access from the publisher.
BioMed Central
Search this Open Access publisher for freely available journal content.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
Source for open-access journal articles

Journal Locator (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
List of journal titles with links to various electronic full text articles. Dates of holdings are included. Use to find electronic content if you have a citation to a journal article.

Web Resources

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Institutes of Health
World Health Organization
WebMD
National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
NSDL is the nation's online portal for education and research on learning in
Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
ICTV Taxonomy of Viruses
by the International Committee onTaxonomy of Viruses (ICTV)
All the Virology on the WWW
Clearinghouse for virology websites. WARNING: many of the sites have not been updated recently and many links are broken, but there are some good taxonomy tools and pictures included. Use at your own risk!

Full-text Pathfinder

Pathfinder: Full-text

Click on the PDF link below to view and/or print a handout on finding full text articles.

Electronic Reference for Virology

The following are recommended electronic reference sources for virology. Click on the title (in blue) or image to open that reference source in a new window:

Encyclopedia of Virology by B. W. J. Mahy (Editor-In-Chief); Marc H. V. van Regenmortel (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780123739353
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition ...source of current research in virology. ... covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects.
The Online Encyclopedia of Science & Technology by AccessScience@McGraw-Hill
This web version of McGraw-Hill's authoritative, print multi-volume counterpart includes: McGraw Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, weekly news articles, research updates, comprehensive & current science biographies, study guides, & web sites.
CREDO Reference Online
Call Number: Electronic Reference
Includes a variety of reference sources. Links within CREDO allow the user to access "Oxford Reference Online", "GALE Reference", and the Lewis Library Catalog.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Publication Date: 2011
For clinical medicine information. Includes some information about causative organisms, diagnosis, and treatment. Also available in print in the Reference Collection: REF RB37 .M555 2011
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Call Number: 27 volumes
Publication Date: 2008
Useful for biography of scientists, but also goes in to details about their work.

Selected E-books

Click on the blue links to see the content of the selected e-books below. Others can be accessed through the Library catalog.

Virology by Leonard C. Norkin
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781555814533
Publication Date: 2009
Discusses viruses in the context of virus families.
Emerging Topics in Physical Virology by Reidun; Peter G. Stockley
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781848164642
Publication Date: 2010
A state-of-the-art account of recent advances in the experimental analysis and modeling of structure, function and dynamics of viruses.
Principles of Virology : Pathogenesis and Control (3rd Edition by S. Jane Flint; American Society for Microbiology Staff (Contribution by); L. W. Enquist; V. R. Racaniello; A. M. Skalka
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781555814434
Publication Date: 2009
These two volumes (in one) provide upper-level undergraduates, graduate students, and medical students with a state-of-the-art introduction to all aspects of virology.
Principles and Practice of Clinical Virology (5th edition) by Arie J. Zuckerman (Editor); Jangu E. Banatvala (Editor); Paul Griffiths (Editor); J. R. Pattison (Editor); Barry Schoub (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0470020962
Publication Date: 2004

Print Reference for Virology

The following books and reference books are recommended for students taking the Virology class:

Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology by Moselio Schaechter (Editor)
Call Number: REF QR9 .D477 2004
ISBN: 0126213615
Publication Date: 2003
Includes chapters on "Viruses" and "Emerging Viruses"
World of Microbiology and Immunology
Call Number: REF QR9 .W675 2003, Vol. 1-2
ISBN: 0787665401
An Atlas of the Clinical Microbiology of Infectious Diseases, Volume 2 by Edward J. Bottone
Call Number: QR67 .B677 2004 V.1 & 2
ISBN: 1842142402
Publication Date: 2006
An Atlas of the Clinical Microbiology of Infectious Diseases, Volume Two: Viral, Fungal, and Parasitic Agents is the second of a series and partner to Volume One, which deals with Microbiological and Clinical Attributes. Filled with highly instructional visual images, this atlas covers typical and atypical presentations of viral, fungal and parasitic agents and offers insightful comments aiding their identification and clinical significance.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Call Number: REF RB37 .M555 2011
Publication Date: 19th Edition
Also available online as an electronic reference source. Use the link below to access.

For clinical medicine information. Includes some information about causative organisms, diagnosis, and treatment.
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Call Number: REF Q141 .D5 V. 1-18, 1970-1990
A newer version of this reference source is available online. You can access it using the link below.

Useful for biography of scientists, but also goes in to details about their work.

Helpful Links

More Helpful Guides

Annotation Guide
by Jamie Coen Last Updated Aug 10, 2023 10 views this year
Subject Headings Guide
by Jamie Coen Last Updated Aug 10, 2023 5 views this year