Virology: Citation Guide

Use the call number below each book to find these style manuals in your library's reference collection OR click on the book or book title for an online style guide for each book!

There is no one standard citation style used at LaGrange College, so be sure to:

• Ask your professor which style s/he prefers for the course.

• Consult a style guide for examples of using various citation styles to create in-text citations, bibliographies and reference lists, or use a citation site to assist you in using correct citation style and building bibliographies. (Be sure to proof-read citations generated with online sites in case of errors.)

• Use a standard style, such as MLA, APA, or CMS and be consistent with it throughout your paper.   

• Ask for citation and paper-writing assistance at the Writing and Tutoring Center located in the Moshell Learning Center (24-hour study). Find Citation Guide Handouts in the 24-hour study:
• The APA Style Guide is Power Handout #17. 
• The MLA Style Guide is Power Handout #18.

Academic organizations and some disciplines outline their own styles of how to cite sources and format research papers.  You may have heard of or used some of the styles before.   

Consult these print and online style guides for examples of citing sources in the text of your paper and in a bibliography or reference list. 

MLA: Modern Language Association [Humanities]

• MLA Style Handbook - Lewis Library Reference, REF LB2369 .G53 2009
• MLA 2009 Formatting and Style Guide (online from The Owl at Purdue, with many examples of creating in-text footnotes and works cited entries)

 APA: American Psychological Association [Social Sciences]

• Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - Lewis Library Reference, REF BF76.7 .P83 2010
• Basics of APA Style Tutorial (online from the APA, outlining writing and citing guidelines)
• APA Formatting and Style Guide (online from The Owl at Purdue with several examples of in-text citations and reference list entries)

 CMS: Chicago Manual of Style [various subjects]

• Chicago Manual of Style - Lewis Library Reference REF PN147 .U699 2010
• Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide (online from the Chicago Manual of Style web site, with examples of citing various types of publications)

 ACS: American Chemical Society

• ACS Style Guide - Lewis Library Reference REF QD8.5 .A25 2006, and Stacks QD8.5 .A25 2006
• ACS Style Guidelines (online from UW-Madison Libraries, providing examples for citing references in the text and the bibliography of a research paper)

 NLM: National Library of Medicine or AMA: American Medical Association

• AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors - (online from the University of Findlay, Shafer Library)
• Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors and Publishers (online from the National Library of Medicine)

CBE: Council of Biology Editors

•  The Council of Biology Editors (CBE) Style of Documentation in Science and Mathematics (online from the Library of the Monroe Community College of the State University of New York)

Various styles - the following resources provide examples of citing sources in several styles

• Research and Documentation Online - by Diana Hacker.  Covers MLA, APA, CMS and CSE styles
• Citing References Wiki - Maintained by LexisNexis and includes examples from MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian.