Welcome to the wonderful world of Footnotes!
Don't worry if all you know if MLA or APA citation style. The Library is here to help!
Footnotes are citations that use numbers in the in-text citations.
The numbers correspond to notes made in the footer on the same page.
Footnotes should be typed in Times New Roman, size 10 font, single-spaced.
Example of a citation in the footer:
1. Katie Kitamura, A Separation (New York: Riverhead Books, 2017), 25.
2. Sharon Sassler and Amanda Jayne Miller, Cohabitation Nation: Gender, Class, and the Remaking of Relationships (Oakland: University of California Press, 2017), 114.
***If you cite from the same author multiple times, you still must give it an in-text footnote and a note in the footer***
Example of a shortened citation in the footer:
3. Kitamura, Separation, 91–92.
4. Sassler and Miller, Cohabitation Nation, 205.
If you cite an author multiple times consecutively, use "Ibid" for the 3rd citation in the footer. If you cite them on a new page, you will use the shortened citation as shown above.
Your Bibliography should be the last page(s) of your paper.
All entries should be in ABC order, Times New Roman font, size 12, single-spaced, and look like this:
Bibliography
Kitamura, Katie. A Separation. New York: Riverhead Books, 2017.
Sassler, Sharon, and Amanda Jayne Miller. Cohabitation Nation: Gender, Class, and the Remaking of Relationships. Oakland: University of California Press, 2017.
How do I create a footnote??
To create a footnote follow these simple directions:
At the end of your sentence in Word:
The corresponding number also appears in the footer, this is where you type in your full citation.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by In a note, cite specific pages. In the bibliography, include the page range for the chapter or part.
1. Mary Rowlandson, “The Narrative of My Captivity,” in The Making of the American Essay, ed. John D’Agata (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 19–20.
2. Rowlandson, “Captivity,” 48.
Rowlandson, Mary. “The Narrative of My Captivity.” In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D’Agata, 19–56. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016.
To cite an edited book as a whole, list the editor(s) first.
For books consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. For other types of e-books, name the format. If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the notes or, if possible, track down a version with fixed page numbers.
1. Fyodor Dostoevsky, Crime and Punishment, trans. Constance Garnett, ed. William Allan Neilson (New York: P. F. Collier & Son, 1917), 444, https://archive.org/details/crimepunishment00dostuoft.
2. Eric Schlosser, Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the American Meal (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2001), 88, ProQuest Ebrary.
3. Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice (New York: Penguin Classics, 2007), chap. 3, Kindle.
4. Dostoevsky, Crime and Punishment, 504–5.
5. Schlosser, Fast Food Nation, 100.
6. Austen, Pride and Prejudice, chap. 14.
Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2007. Kindle.
Dostoevsky, Fyodor. Crime and Punishment. Translated by Constance Garnett, edited by William Allan Neilson. New York: P. F. Collier & Son, 1917. https://archive.org/details/crimepunishment00dostuoft.
Schlosser, Eric. Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the American Meal. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2001. ProQuest Ebrary.
In a note, cite specific page numbers. In the bibliography, include the page range for the whole article. For articles consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. Many journal articles list a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). A DOI forms a permanent URL that begins https://doi.org/. This URL is preferable to the URL that appears in your browser’s address bar.
1. Ashley Hope Pérez, “Material Morality and the Logic of Degrees in Diderot’s Le neveu de Rameau,” Modern Philology 114, no. 4 (May 2017): 874, https://doi.org/10.1086/689836.
2. Shao-Hsun Keng, Chun-Hung Lin, and Peter F. Orazem, “Expanding College Access in Taiwan, 1978–2014: Effects on Graduate Quality and Income Inequality,” Journal of Human Capital 11, no. 1 (Spring 2017): 9–10, https://doi.org/10.1086/690235.
3. Peter LaSalle, “Conundrum: A Story about Reading,” New England Review 38, no. 1 (2017): 95, Project MUSE.
4. Pérez, “Material Morality,” 880–81.
5. Keng, Lin, and Orazem, “Expanding College Access,” 23.
6. LaSalle, “Conundrum,” 101.
Keng, Shao-Hsun, Chun-Hung Lin, and Peter F. Orazem. “Expanding College Access in Taiwan, 1978–2014: Effects on Graduate Quality and Income Inequality.” Journal of Human Capital 11, no. 1 (Spring 2017): 1–34. https://doi.org/10.1086/690235.
LaSalle, Peter. “Conundrum: A Story about Reading.” New England Review 38, no. 1 (2017): 95–109. Project MUSE.
Pérez, Ashley Hope. “Material Morality and the Logic of Degrees in Diderot’s Le neveu de Rameau.” Modern Philology 114, no. 4 (May 2017): 872–98. https://doi.org/10.1086/689836.
Journal articles often list many authors, especially in the sciences. If there are four or more authors, list up to ten in the bibliography; in a note, list only the first, followed by et al. (“and others”). For more than ten authors (not shown here), list the first seven in the bibliography, followed by et al.
Some rights reserved