Use our online catalog to find books and e-books (and DVDs). You'll find many circulating books on Islam in the Stacks on the lower level, especially in the call number ranges DS 35-DS 38 and BP.
Here are a few titles that may be of interest:
The New Cambridge Medieval History. (D 117 .C300 1995, 7 volumes)
The Cambridge History of Islam. Ed. P.M. Holt et al. (DS 35.6 .C3 1980; vols. 1a, 1b, 2a, 2b)
Muslims of Medieval Latin Christendom c. 1050-1614. Catlos, Brian A. 2014. (BP 65 .A1 C38 2015)
The Race for Paradise: An Islamic History of the Crusades. Cobb, Paul M. 2014. (D 157 .C58 2014)
The Oxford History of Islam. Esposito, John L. 1999. (BP 50 .O955 1999)
The Ottoman Empire and Early Modern Europe. Goffman, Faniel. (DR 486 .G622 2002)
Islam in Europe. Goody, Jack. (BP 65 .A100 G66 2004)
Introduction to Islam: Beliefs and Practices in Historical Perspective. Hillenbrand, Carol. 2015. (BP 161.3 .H553 2015)
The History of Islam in Africa. Ed. N. Levtzion and R. Pouwels. 2000. (BP 64 .A100 H62 2000)
A History of the Arab Peoples. Hourani, Albert. 2002. (DS 37.7 .H67 1991)
The Politicization of Islam: Reconstructing Identity, State, Faith, and Community in the Late Ottoman Empire. Karpat, Kehmel H. 2001. (DR572 .K288 2001)
Armies of the Caliphs. Kennedy, Hugh. 2001. (DS35.687 .K466 2001)
A History of Islamic Societies. 3rd ed. Lapidus, Ira M. 2014. (DS 38.53 .L37 2014)
Daily Life in the Medieval Islamic World. Lindsay, James E. 2005. (DS 36.855 .L56 2005)
Muslim Societies in Africa: A Historical Anthropology. Loimeier, Roman. 2013. (BP 64 .A1 L65 2013)
Neighboring Faiths: Christianity, Islam, and Judaism in the Middle Ages and Today. Nirenberg, David. 2014. (BL 410 .N57 2014)
Islamic Civilization in Thirty Lives: The First 1,000 Years. Robinson, Chase F. 2016. (DS 36.85 .R63 2016)
The following are e-books; click on the titles to access them:
Berger, Maurits S. A Brief History of Islam in Europe: Thirteen Centuries of Creed, Conflict and Coexistence. 2013.
Freely, John. The Grand Turk: Sultan Mehmet II – Conqueror of Constantinople…. 2009.
Kennedy, Hugh. Armies of the Caliphs. 2001
Sonn, Tamara. Islam: History, Religion, and Politics. 2015.
*Additional e-books are available from Ebook Central (ProQuest) or GALILEO.*
Most books on Islam will be in the call number ranges DS 35-38 (for history and civilization) or BP (for religion). Among the reference books relevant to Islam in Lewis Library are:
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (REF DS 35.53 .O955 2009, 6 volumes)
The Islamic World Past and Present (REF DS 35.53 .I866 2004, 3 vols.)
The Muslim Diaspora. (REF BP 50 .J46 1999; 2 vols; vol. 1, 570-1550)
Cultural Atlas of Islam (REF DS 36.85 .A39 1986)
Shorter Encyclopedia of Islam (REF DS 37 .E52)
The New Encyclopedia of Islam (REF BP 40 .G42 2013; 2008 edition in Stacks)
The Oxford Dictionary of Islam (REF BP 40 .O955 2003; also available online)
Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalism (REF BP 166.14 .F85 G85 2012; chronology on p. xlvii)
The Qu’ran: An Encyclopedia (REF BP 133 .Q87 2006)
Milestone Documents in World History (REF D 5 M53 2010, 4 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Ancient History (REF D 54 .E53 2013, 13 vols.)
Dictionary of the Middle Ages (REF D 114 .D5 1982, 13 vols.)
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages (REF D 114 .O94 2010, 4 vols.; also available in Oxford Reference Online)
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium (REF DF521 .O93 1991, 3 vols.)
Historical Dictionary of the Crusades (REF D 155 .S533 2003)
Historical Dictionary of Saudi Arabia (REF DS 221 .P488 2003)
Historical Dictionary of Iran (REF DS 270 .L67 2007; chronology of "Islamic Period" 570-1477 pp xxvii-xxix)
Europe 1450 to 1789 (REF D 209 .E977 2004, 2 vols.)
Dictionary of Battles and Sieges (REF D 25 .J33 2007; other military history books in this area)
Encyclopedia of Religion (REF BL 31 .E466 2005, 15 vols.; also online in the Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Religions of the World (REF BL 80.3 .R455 2002, 4 vols.)
In most databases, you’ll be searching the article titles, abstracts (summaries), and subject terms (also called “descriptors”), rather than the full text; so use as few search terms as possible. See our Reference library guide to review tips on database searching and Boolean operators.
JSTOR tips: Since JSTOR does search full text, it works differently. Some tips on using JSTOR:
Journal Locator - if you have a citation for a journal article but need full text, Journal Locator will inform you whether we have full text in any of our databases. If not, consult the reference librarian. We may have the journal on the shelf, or we can order an article (or book) you need on interlibrary loan.
Some rights reserved