LibGuides: HIST 3350: Renaissance and Renascences: Primary Sources

Search GALILEO

General Digital Resources

Looking for translated primary source material? Consider searching or browsing the following resources.

Internet History Sourcebooks Project This link opens in a new window
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Primary sources are available here mainly for use in high-school and university/college courses.
Ancient and Medieval History This link opens in a new window
Ancient and Medieval History provides thousands of articles, primary sources, videos, and more covering prehistory through the 1500s throughout the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Period-Specific Digital Collections

Looking for digitized copies of primary sources? Browse these institutions' digital collections to see high-fidelity original primary sources. Note that these will be primarily in non-English languages, like Latin. You will likely want to find a translated copy to analyze the text of each item.

Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
The official portal for the Library of Congress digital collections, including digitized historic American newspapers, photographs, audio recordings, web archives, and more.

Digital Scriptorium Catalog
The Digital Scriptorium Catalog connects researchers to pre- and early modern manuscript books in DS member institutions, including Cornell University, Folger Shakespeare Library, Harvard University’s Houghton Library, The Huntington, Oberlin College Library Special Collections, Science History Institute, and more.
Europeana
Search, save and share art, books, films and music from thousands of European cultural institutions.
Digital Bodleian
This database of digitized artifacts at the Bodleian Library includes many potentially relevant collections.
The Met Collection
The Met's online collections are rich in digitized artworks from around the world and spanning all eras of history.
NYPL Digital Collections: Renaissance and Medieval Manuscripts Collection
CURIOSity Collections at Harvard: Medieval & Renaissance Manuscripts
University of Alabama at Birmingham: Medieval and Renaissance Manuscript Collection

Still unable to find what you need? Consider searching for the period or specific item you are looking for in Google along with the search term "digital collection" to see what's out there!