Nazi Germany: Primary Sources

Contains selected visual and audio samples of the tour, "A Walk Through Two Thousand Years of German History."

SEE 1918-1933 Weimar Republic
SEE ALSO 1933-1945 NS regime and the Second World War

Primary sources documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. New English translations accompany German texts.

Internet Archive is a 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization that is constructing a digital library of internet sites. Access is free to researchers, historians, and the general public.

A collection of English translations of National Socialist propaganda from 1933-1945 made available through Calvin College. Included are speeches and writings by NAZI leaders; racial and anti-semitic publications; visual material (posters, photographs, and art); war propaganda, 1939-1945; and much, much more. A very extensive site.

1941-1945

Confessional Synod of the German Evangelical Church meeting in Barmen, May 29-31, 1934.

This collection provides unique documents on the investigation and prosecution of war crimes committed by Nazi concentration camp commandants and camp personnel. Documents include: correspondence; trial records and transcripts; investigatory material, such as interrogation reports and trial exhibits; clemency petitions and reviews; photographs of atrocities; newspaper clippings; and pamphlets. Many concentration (and later extermination) camps and sub-camps are represented in this collection, including Mauthausen, Dachau, Belsen-Bergen, Buchenwald, Treblinka, Sobibor, sub-camp Gros-Raming, sub-camp Gusen I, sub-camp Ebensee, and others.

Testaments to the Holocaust is the online publication of the archives of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-semitic activities of the German Nazi Party. It contains documentary evidence collected in several different programmes: the eyewitness accounts which were collected before, during and after the Second World War, from people fleeing the Nazi oppression, a large collection of photographs of pre-war Jewish life, the activities of the Nazis, and the ghettoes and camps, a collection of postcards of synagogues in Germany and eastern Europe, most since destroyed, a unique collection of Nazi propaganda publications including a large collection of ‘educational’ children’s’ books, and the card index of biographical details of prominent figures in Nazi Germany, many with portrait photographs. Pamphlets, bulletins and journals published by the Wiener Library to record and disseminate the research of the Institute are also