Epigenetics is the study of both heritable and non-heritable changes in the regulation of gene activity and expression that occur without an alteration in the DNA sequence. This dynamic and rapidly developing discipline is making its impact across the biomedical sciences, in particular in toxicology where epigenetic differences can mean that different individuals respond differently to the same drug or chemical.
This web version of McGraw-Hill's authoritative, print multi-volume counterpart includes: McGraw Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, weekly news articles, research updates, comprehensive & current science biographies, study guides, & web sites.
Over 5,200 clear and concise entries providing comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry. Features include biographical entries on key scientists and highlighted entries on important topics such as bioinformatics, genomics, molecular evolution, and protein structure, with further reading suggestions.
This standard reference source contains more than 5,000 biographies of mathematicians and natural scientists from all countries and from all historical periods. It presents an accurate and reliable narrative of the development of science, not as a mere accumulation of technical information but as the collective accomplishment that has ordered our understanding of nature.
Pesticide control involves killing pest organisms or otherwise preventing them from destructive behavior. This book should serve as a text book for academia, or as a reference work for agriculturists, environmentalists and industry professionals.
Print Resources for Toxicology
A Small Dose of Toxicology by Steven G. Gilbert
Call Number: RA1213 .G544 2004
Publication Date: 2004-02-18
"How toxicology affects our everyday lives..."
The following print books and reference books are recommended for Toxicology students:
Silent Spring by Rachel Louise Carson; Rachel Carson
Call Number: SB959 .C300 2002
Publication Date: 2002-10-22
First published in 1962, Carson's eloquent book was instrumental in launching the environmental movement.
Elementary Statistics by Janet T. Spence; John W. Cotton; Benton J. Underwood; Carl P. Duncan
Call Number: HA29 .E43 1976
Publication Date: 1976
A Handbook of Biological Investigation by Harrison W. Ambrose; Katherine Peckham Ambrose
Call Number: QH324 .A52 1995
Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology
Call Number: REF QR81 .B466 2001, 6 volumes
Reference books are located on the main (2nd) floor of Lewis Library.
This set is a little tricky to use, but if your organism is a bacteria, this will have very useful information. Ask a librarian for help if you aren’t finding what you need.
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Call Number: REF Q141 .D5 V. 1-18, 1970-1990
A newer version of this reference source is available online. You can access it using the link in the section above.
Useful for biography of scientists, but also goes in to details about their work.
Encyclopedic Reference of Immunotoxicology by Hans-Werner Vohr (Editor)
Call Number: REF QR180.4 .E55 2005
The Encyclopedic Reference of Immunotoxicology is intended to be a comprehensive work of reference which will provide easy access to relevant information in the fast-growing field of Immunotoxicology.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Call Number: REF RB37 .M555 2011
Publication Date: 19th Edition
Also available online as an electronic reference source. Use the link below to access.
For clinical medicine information. Includes some information about causative organisms, diagnosis, and treatment.
Environmental Health Sourcebook by Dawn D. Matthews (Editor)
Call Number: REF RA565 .E484 2003
Basic Consumer Health Information about the Environment and Its Effect on Human Health, Including the Effects of Air Pollution, Water Pollution, Hazardous Chemicals, Food Hazards, Radiation Hazards, Biological Agents, Household Hazards, Such as Radon, Asbestos, Carbon Monoxide, and Mold, and Information about Associated Diseases and Disorders, Including Cancer, Allergies, Respiratory Problems, and Skin Disorders Along with Information about Environmental Concerns for Specific Populations, a Glossary of Related Terms, and Resources for Further Help and Information.
Proctor and Hughes' Chemical Hazards of the Workplace by Gloria J. Hathaway; Nick H. Proctor
Call Number: RA1229 .P766 2004
"...toxicology data on chemicals that may be encountered in various work settings."
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Richard Cammack (Editor); Teresa K. Attwood; Peter Campbell; Howard Parish; Anthony Smith; John Stirling; Frank Vella
Call Number: REF QP512 .O94 2006
Publication Date: 2006-08-24
The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive and 'encyclopaedic' survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. The entries are short but informative.