LibGuides: Political Science: Electronic Resources

Electronic Reference Sources

Use the following list of recommended electronic reference sources for accessing electronic reference information related to Political Science topics.

Starting your Research:

When starting your research, it is best to start broad so you can discover potential topics. Here GALILEO will be your go-to as it has a little bit of everything.

Reference Ready:

Found a topic, but don't know much about it yet? This is where the library's reference collection will come in. Finding ebooks on general topics will assist in helping form your thesis statement. Here you may find encyclopedias, atlas, dictionaries, handbooks, and sourcebooks/bibliographies.

Database Researching

Specific databases are going to narrow down your search results, so instead of having everything you're going to start seeing more sources specific to your topic matter.

Finding Journals:

Individual journals are where you start seeing experts come in, who focus specifically on this area of the field.

Science and Politics: An A-to-Z Guide to Issues and Controversies by Brent S. Steel (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781452258102
Publication Date: 2014
Recent partisan squabbles over science in the news are indicative of a larger tendency for scientific research and practice to get entangled in major ideological divisions in the public arena. This politicization of science is deepened by the key role government funding plays in scientific research and development, the market leading position of U.S.-based science and technology firms, and controversial U.S. exports (such as genetically modified foods or hormone-injected livestock). This groundbreaking, one-volume, A-to-Z reference features 120-150 entries that explore the nexus of politics and science, both in the United States and in U.S. interactions with other nations. The essays, each by experts in their fields, examine: Health, environmental, and social/cultural issues relating to science and politics Concerns relating to government regulation and its impact on the practice of science Key historical and contemporary events that have shaped our contemporary view of how science and politics intersect Science and Politics: An A to Z Guide to Issues and Controversies is a must-have resource for researchers and students who seek to deepen their understanding of the connection between science and politics.
The Political Spectrum by Anthony C. Patton
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781628941692
Publication Date: 2015
The Political Spectrum' sets out to identify the timeless, universal principles of political philosophy that shape how we live as a society, from democracy in Ancient Greece and the aristocracies of the Enlightenment to the tribal lands of Pakistan and the modern state that is the United States of America.Unlike most political philosophies that rest on traditional foundations such as rights, private property, or human nature, The Political Spectrum focuses on the fundamental ideas dividing the left and the right today to identify a rational middle ground.Tracing the most insightful ideas from great thinkers in the Western tradition, The Political Spectrum identifies two fundamental institutions that all societies must manage in a rational way in order to survive.Along the way, the book explores the tension between liberty and the individual's duty to society and the proper roles of family and state. Basing the analysis on the four pillars of political philosophy--human nature, institutions, wealth, and justice--The Political Spectrum offers a vision for resolving the political divide in a way that promotes liberty and prosperity.
Political Theory by Evangelia Sembou (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781443848497
Publication Date: 2013
Political theory draws on a number of different disciplines, such as political science, philosophy, history and law. It is a broad subfield; its practitioners, depending on their background, bring different perspectives and approaches to the study of political thought, which range from historical to normative. Moreover, political theory often draws on the insights of, as well as engages in a dialogue with, social theory, ethics and the philosophy of law. In addition, nowadays, political theory has expanded to include the study of 'the international' (international political theory). For all these reasons, political theory is a core subject taught in a variety of academic departments. Yet, paradoxically, there has been an increasing tendency in the past few years for political theory to be marginalized in the academy. This is because so much academic policy concentrates on the main branches of the disciplines within which political theory falls. Even worse for political theory, social theory and the philosophy of law, or legal philosophy, with which it enters into fruitful dialogue, are themselves 'weak' areas within sociology and law, respectively. The aim of this volume is to address this situation. What are the problems and challenges that political theory faces today? What is its importance as a distinctive branch of enquiry? What are its main concerns? The fact that political thought operates across disciplinary boundaries and often challenges the boundaries of the aforesaid disciplines is one of its greatest strengths.
Political Philosophy by Steven B. Smith
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780300181807
Publication Date: 2012
Who ought to govern? Why should I obey the law? How should conflict be controlled? What is the proper education for a citizen and a statesman? These questions probe some of the deepest and most enduring problems that every society confronts, regardless of time and place. Today we ask the same crucial questions about law, authority, justice, and freedom that Plato, Aristotle, Machiavelli, Hobbes, Locke, Rousseau, and Tocqueville faced in previous centuries. In this lively and enlightening book, Professor Steven B. Smith introduces the wide terrain of political philosophy through the classic texts of the discipline. Works by the greatest thinkers illuminate the permanent problems of political life, Smith shows, and while we may not accept all their conclusions, it would be a mistake to overlook the relevance of their insights.]]>
Political Facts and Perceptions by Jeffry L. Radel (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781608766369
Publication Date: 2010
The book embraces all aspects and sub-topics of the discipline of political science, not merely making surveys of them. It extracts the fundamentals from each without engaging students in a study of complicated high-level research endeavours. It engages them, however, in basic behavioural approaches of thought, without which in their later studies -- asking to discover, operationalise and compute raw data -- would encounter various hardships. The book is a complete product, which passes progressively -- in a proven pedagogical manner -- from normative to behavioural propositions. Its goal is to make students think behaviourally, in terms of precision and attempted political predictions.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Political Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Political Science Database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.
Research Library (at ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers over 220 quality journal titles from 37 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Online editions are often available earlier than print editions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Want to find more databases?

Journal Name and Browsing Access

General

Political Science

American Journal of Political Science
*A general review open to all areas of the discipline of political science.

ABI/INFORM Collection 11/01/1995 - 10/01/1998
ABI/INFORM Global 11/01/1995 - 10/01/1998
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Archive Collection 02/01/1973 - present (Full Text Delay: 2 years)
Print (In Library) V.51-54 (2007-2010)
Research Library 11/01/1995 - 10/01/1998
Social Science Database 11/01/1995 - 10/01/1998

American Political Science Review
*Articles for a diverse audience of scholars and practitioners which illuminate a significant research problem or answer an important research question of general interest in political science.

ABI/INFORM Collection 03/01/1988 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
ABI/INFORM Global 03/01/1988 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Cambridge Journals Online 01/01/2001 - present
Education Database 03/01/1988 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Archive Collection 11/01/1906 - present (Full Text Delay: 6 years)
Print (In Library) V.88-101 (1994-2007) ; V.103-present (2009-present)
Research Library 03/01/1988 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Social Science Database 03/01/1988 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)

Journal of Politics
*Articles, research notes and book reviews in all areas of politics.

Academic Search Complete 02/01/2001 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Business Source Complete 02/01/2001 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Archive Collection 02/01/1939 - present (Full Text Delay: 6 years)
Sociological Collection 02/01/1975 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)

Perspectives on Politics
*Perspectives on Politics seeks to provide a space for broad and synthetic discussion within the political science profession and between the profession and the broader scholarly and reading publics.

Cambridge Journals Online 03/01/2003 - present
JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII Archive Collection 03/01/2003 - present (Full Text Delay: 6 years)
Research Library 03/01/2009 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)

Political Research Quarterly
*Articles and review essays on all aspects of Western politics and political science selected through blind review.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences II Archive Collection 03/01/1993 - present (Full Text Delay: 2 years)
Military Database 09/01/1996 - 12/01/2018
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) 03/01/2012 - 06/01/2016
Research Library 09/01/1996 - 12/01/2018
Social Science Database 09/01/1996 - 12/01/2018

American Politics

Legislative Studies Quarterly
*Devoted to the publication of research on representative assemblies.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences II Archive Collection 02/01/1976 - present (Full Text Delay: 6 years)

Presidential Studies Quarterly
*Articles primarily focused on the American presidency, examining both domestic and foreign policy, decision-making, relationships with Congress and organization for faculty, students, administrators business and government leaders.

Military Database 01/01/1994 - 12/01/2018
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) 03/01/2004 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Research Library 01/01/1994 - 12/01/2018
Social Science Database 01/01/1994 - 12/01/2018

International Relations

International Organization
* Timely articles on all aspects of world politics and international political economics for professionals in international relations, business and finance.

ABI/INFORM Collection 01/01/2010 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
ABI/INFORM Global 01/01/2010 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Advanced Placement Source 01/01/2001 - 10/01/2002
Business Source Complete 01/01/2001 - 10/01/2002
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Archive Collection 02/01/1947 - present (Full Text Delay: 4 years)
Military Database 01/01/2010 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) 01/15/1998 - 12/15/2003
Research Library 01/01/2010 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Social Science Database 01/01/2010 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Sociological Collection 01/01/2001 - 10/01/2002

World Politics
* Original articles, research notes and reviews representing all the disciplines, methods and viewpoints relevant to international relations and comparative politics.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Archive Collection 10/01/1948 - present (Full Text Delay: 6 years)
Military Database 10/01/2002 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Project MUSE - Basic College Collection 10/01/1995 - present
Project MUSE - Standard Collection 10/01/1995 - present
Research Library 10/01/2002 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Social Science Database 10/01/2002 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)

Law

Harvard Law Review
* Journal of legal scholarship publishes articles by professors, judges, and practitioners and solicits reviews of important recent books from recognized experts.

Academic Search Complete 04/15/1887 - present
Advanced Placement Source 01/01/1985 - present
Business Source Complete 04/15/1887 - present
JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV Archive Collection 04/15/1887 - present (Full Text Delay: 4 years)
Westlaw Campus Research: Law, News & Business 01/01/1949 - present

University of Pennsylvania Law Review
* Original articles covering a broad spectrum of legal issues.

Academic Search Complete 06/01/1996 - present
Advanced Placement Source 06/01/1996 - present
Business Source Complete 06/01/1996 - present
JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV Archive Collection 03/01/1945 - present (Full Text Delay: 4 years)
Legal Source 06/01/1996 - present
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) 04/01/2007 - present
Westlaw Campus Research: Law, News & Business 01/01/1984 - present

Political Theory

Political Theory
* A forum for the diverse orientations in the study of political ideas, including the history of political thought, modern theory, conceptual analysis and polemic argumentation.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences II Archive Collection 02/01/1973 - present (Full Text Delay: 4 years)

Public Administration

Administration & Society
* Empirically oriented research reports and theoretically specific articles that synthesize or contribute to the advancement of understanding of public and human service organizations, their administrative processes and their effect on society.

ABI/INFORM Collection 02/01/1996 - 11/01/2007
ABI/INFORM Global 02/01/1996 - 11/01/2007

Public Administration Quarterly
* Public Administration Quarterly (PAQ) publishes articles and symposia of interest to academics and practitioners across the fields of public administration and public affairs.

ABI/INFORM Archive Complete 01/01/1986 - 04/01/1987
ABI/INFORM Collection 01/01/1986 - 04/01/1987
ABI/INFORM Global 01/01/1986 - 04/01/1987

Public Administration Review
* Published by the American Society for Public Administration. Articles, commentary and book reviews in all aspects of public administration.

ABI/INFORM Collection 01/01/1988 - 01/01/2011
ABI/INFORM Global 01/01/1988 - 01/01/2011
Business Source Complete 03/01/1965 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Education Database 01/01/1988 - 01/01/2011
Education Source 01/01/1985 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV Archive Collection 10/01/1940 - present (Full Text Delay: 6 years)
Legal Source 03/01/1965 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) 01/01/1995 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Research Library 01/01/1988 - 01/01/2011
Social Science Database 01/01/1988 - 01/01/2011

Public Policy

Journal of Policy Analysis and Management
* Encompasses issues and practices in policy analysis and public management.

ABI/INFORM Collection 01/01/1999 - 07/01/2005
ABI/INFORM Global 01/01/1999 - 07/01/2005
Business Source Complete 09/01/1981 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Education Database 01/01/1999 - 07/01/2005
JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV Archive Collection 10/01/1981 - present (Full Text Delay: 6 years)
Military Database 01/01/1999 - 07/01/2005
Research Library 01/01/1999 - 07/01/2005
Social Science Database 01/01/1999 - 07/01/2005

Policy Studies Journal
* Articles, critical essays, symposia and book reviews on the field of public policy as generally understood within the discipline of political science written by social scientists and others.

ABI/INFORM Collection 04/01/1994 - 11/01/2011
ABI/INFORM Global 04/01/1994 - 11/01/2011
Academic Search Complete 03/01/2000 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Business Source Complete 03/01/2000 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Environmental Science Collection 04/01/1994 - 11/01/2011
Military Database 04/01/1994 - 11/01/2011
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) 01/15/1995 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Research Library 04/01/1994 - 11/01/2011
Social Science Database 04/01/1994 - 11/01/2011

Review of Policy Research
* Coverage of substantive issues related to policy formation, implementation and evaluation, and theoretical pieces on controversies in the study of policy.

Academic Search Complete 06/01/2002 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Business Source Complete 06/01/2002 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) 04/15/2002 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)