Political Science: Home

The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science by Frank Bealy (Editor) The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science provides students and general readers with a clear and lively introduction to the terminology of political science.

The World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures by George Thomas Kurian; Lawrence D. Longley; International Political Science Association Staff; Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Staff A collection of over 200 articles describing legislative bodies around the world. For each country, the legislative body is discussed in terms of constitutional approach as well as practice. Key characteristics such as historical background, elections, lawmaking and budgetary control are covered.

Issues for Debate in American Public Policy by CQ Editors This work covers 16 controversial policy issues, such as: are tax cuts needed to stimulate the economy? Should colleges use race-based admissions policies to remedy discrimination against minorities? And should the US adopt a pre-emptive strike doctrine?

Guide to the Presidency by Michael Nelson The Guide to the Presidency is an extensive study of the most important office of the U.S. political system. Its two volumes describe the history, workings and people involved in this office from Washington to Clinton. The thirty-seven chapters of the Guide, arranged into seven distinct subject areas (ranging from the origins of the office to the powers of the presidency to selection and removal) cover every aspect of the presidency. Initially dealing with the constitutional evolution of the presidency and its development, the book goes on to expand on the history of the office, how the presidency operates alongside the numerous departments and agents of the federal bureaucracy, and how the selection procedure works in ordinary and special cicumstances. Of special interest to the reader will be the illustrated biographies of every president from Washington to the present day, and the detailed overview of the vice-presidents and first ladies of each particular office. Also included are two special appendices, one of which gathers together important addresses and speeches from the Declaration of Independence to Clinton's Inaugural Address, and another which provides results from elections and polls and statistics from each office.

Guide to the Presidency and the Executive Branch by Michael Nelson (Editor) This comprehensive two-volume guide is the definitive source for researchers seeking an understanding of those who have occupied the White House and on the institution of the U.S. presidency. Readers turn Guide to the Presidency for its wealth of facts and analytical chapters that explain the structure, powers, and operations of the office and the president′s relationship with Congress and the Supreme Court. The Fifth Edition of this acclaimed reference completes coverage of the George W. Bush presidency, the 2008 election, and the first 3 years of the presidency of Barack Obama. This includes coverage of their handling of the economic crisis, wars abroad, and Obama′s healthcare initiatives. The work is divided into eight distinct subject areas covering every aspect of the U.S. presidency, and all chapters in each subject area have been revised and updated: Origins and Development of the Presidency, including constitutional beginnings, history of the presidency and vice presidency, and presidential ratings Selection and Removal of the President, including the electoral process, a chronology of presidential elections, removal of the president and vice president, and succession Powers of the Presidency, including the unilateral powers of the presidency and those as chief of state, chief administrator, legislative leader, commander in chief, and chief economist The President, the Public, and the Parties, including presidential appearances, the president and political parties, the president and the news media, the presidency and pop culture, public support and opinion, and the president and interest groups The Presidency and the Executive Branch, including the White House Office, the Office of the Vice President, supporting organizations, the cabinet and executive departments, presidential commissions, and executive branch housing, pay, and perquisites Chief Executive and Federal Government, including the president and Congress, the president and the Supreme Court, and the president and the bureaucracy Presidents, their Families, and Life in the White House and Beyond, including the daily life of the president, the first lady, the first family, friends of presidents, and life after the presidency Biographies of the Presidents, Vice Presidents, First Ladies This new volume also features more than 200 textboxes, tables, and figures. Major revisions cover the supporting White House organizations and the president′s role as chief economist. Additional reference materials include explanatory headnotes, as well as hundreds of photographs with detailed captions.

Guide to Congress by CQ Editors Focusing on Congress, the United States' supreme law-making body, this reference covers such issues as how media reporting has affected the ability of Congress to function; and how the GOP leadership and its region of dedicated conservatives changed the tenor of debate in Congress.

Landmark Documents on the U. S. Congress by Raymond W. Smock A treasury of primary sources that explore the institution of Congress in the political life and history of the USA. It covers more than two centuries of events, including material on the conduct of senators and representatives, the origins of Congress, and congressional procedures.

Guide to the U. S. Supreme Court by David G. Savage This brand new edition of Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court reflects the substantial changes in the makeup of the High Court and landmark rulings from recent Court terms. No other reference on the Court offers so much detail and insight in such a readable format. Updated through the 2008&BAD:–2009 term, this classic resource explains everything readers need to know about the Supreme Court, from its origins and how it functions to the people who have shaped it and the impact of its decisions on American life and the path of U.S. constitutional law. Updates include:The appointments of Chief Justice John G. Roberts, as well as Associate Justices Samuel Alito and Sonia Sotomayor&BAD:—featuring biographies and background informationA new chapter on the emergence of Second Amendment protections for the Right to Bear ArmsNew content on individual rightsNew information and detail on how cases currently get to the Court, and how the process has changed over timeExpanded content on selecting justices and the confirmation politics of judicial appointmentsLandmark decisions and key cases:District of Columbia v. Heller (2008)&BAD:—gun rights and the Second AmendmentBoumediene v. Bush (2008)&BAD:—Guantánamo and habeas corpusRoper v. Simmons (2005)&BAD:—on death penalty and juvenilesGuide to the U.S. Supreme Court covers the Court&BAD:’s entire history; its operations; its power in relation to other branches of government; major decisions affecting the other branches, the states, individual rights and liberties; and biographies of the justices. Appendixes provide additional information on the Court such as the Judiciary Acts of 1789 and 1925 and a list of Acts of Congress found by the Court to be unconstitutional. A general name and subject index speeds research, and a case index quickly guides readers to all decisions discussed in the Guide. Key FeaturesCovers three new Supreme Court justices and the confirmation process Demonstrates how cases get to the CourtNew content on individual rightsNew chapter on the Second Amendment

The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions by Kermit Hall (Editor); James W. Ely Jr. (Editor) The Supreme Court has been the site of some of the great debates of American history, from child labor and prayer in the schools, to busing and abortion. The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions offers lively and insightful accounts of the most important cases ever argued before the Court, from Marbury v. Madison and Scott v. Sandford (the Dred Scott decision) to Brown v. Board of Education and Roe v. Wade. This new edition of the Guide contains more than 450 entries on major Supreme Court cases, including 53 new entries on the latest landmark rulings. Among the new entries are Bush v. Gore, Nixon v. United States, Gonzales v. Planned Parenthood Federation of America, and Rumsfeld v. Forum for Academic and Institutional Rights. Four decisions (Hamdi v. Bush, Hamdan v. Rumsfeld, Rasu v. Bush, and Rumsfeld v. Padilla) are considered in a single essay entitled "Enemy Combatant Cases." Arranged alphabetically and written by eminent legal scholars, each entry provides the United States Reports citation, the date the case was argued and decided, the vote of the Justices, who wrote the opinion for the Court, who concurred, and who dissented. More important, the entries feature an informative account of the particulars of the case, the legal and social background, the reasoning behind the Courts decision, and the cases impact on American society. For this edition, Ely has added an extensive Further Reading section and revised the Case Index and Topical Index. For anyone interested in the great controversies of our time, this invaluable book is a must reada primer on the epic constitutional battles that have informed American life.

A Constitutional History of the U. S. Supreme Court by Richard J. Regan In A Constitutional History of the U.S. Supreme Court, Richard Regan presents a concise overview and general history for readers and students in constitutional history and politics, one that will also make an excellent fact-filled source book for lawyers and political scientists. The chapters deal with leading decisions of successive courts and begin with brief biographies of the justices on the courts. Famous cases from Marbury v Madison, to the Dred-Scott decision, Brown v Board of Education, Roe v Wade, up to the Roberts court decision on the constitutionality of Obamacare are discussed. Four appendices deal with the text of the Constitution and amendments, the court system, a chronological list of the justices with biographical details, and a chronological list of the membership on successive courts. Regan devotes more attention to later courts, specifically the Rehnquist and Roberts courts. This is done due to the wealth of material that exists on earlier courts, but also because the decisions of the more recent courts concern developing areas of constitutional law. Finally, extensive treatment of the most recent courts gives great insights into the current Supreme Court justices and their jurisprudence. As any follower of the Supreme Court will perceive, many recent cases involve decisions by a sharply divided court and the concurring and dissenting opinion of the justices make for fascinating and often hard-hitting reading. Regan hopes that an understanding of the individuals who wrote these opinions will help a reader to understand the legal, political and cultural reality of the present-day legal landscape in the United States. This "just the facts" approach to the Supreme Court make A Constitutional History of the U.S. Supreme Court a worthy addition to Richard Regan's body of work.

Landmark Decisions of the United States Supreme Court by Maureen Harrison An important new reference that provides the historical context and constitutional perspective of more than 1,000 of the most important Supreme Court cases. Landmark Decisions of the United States Supreme Court offers an unparalleled history of the Supreme Court and its impact on American democracy and society.

The Supreme Court in Conference (1940-1985) by Del Dickson (Editor) The Supreme Court in Conference offers a fascinating and unprecedented look at the private debates between Justices on nearly 300 landmark cases from 1940-1985. Major decisions such as Roe v. Wade and Brown v. Board of Education are covered and the notes of Justices Felix Frankfurter, William O. Douglas, Frank Murphy, Robert Jackson, Harold Burton, Tom Clark, Earl Warren and William Brennan are opened to shed light on what goes on behind the closed doors of the secretive conference room. In this unique and revealing work on some of the most profound rulings made at a turbulent time in American history, the reader is given insight into how and why certain decisions were reached. With expert editing by Del Dickson--who provides annotations and an introduction to each case, placing them in legal and historical context--cases on issues such as free speech, the rights of the accused, religion, Presidential power, equal protection, affirmative action and the death penalty are discussed. Dickson also includes a lively and incisive history of the Supreme Court, from its beginning to the present, illuminating how the conference works, how it has evolved, its various animosities, triumphant successes and glaring failures. As the first major reference work on this subject, this easy-to-use book offers the most reliable evidence available on the internal workings of the Supreme Court. It is the ideal source for scholars, law students, historians and anyone interested in how Supreme Court decisions are truly made.

Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2014 by Bernan Press Staff; ProQuest LLC Staff Questions come across the reference desk on all topics: How many hate crimes were there in 2008? Are there many book clubs in the U.S.' Do you have the GDP for the U.S. for the past 10 (or so) years? How many people use Facebook? All of these questions can be answered by the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps, the world. You'll find it behind nearly every reference desk in U.S. libraries as the authoritative go-to source. Librarians value the Statistical Abstract as both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources. As a carefully selected collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people. The Statistical Abstract print edition resembles the Census version that users know and love, plus more with: -Thousands of tables from hundreds of sources and valuable, detailed bibliographic documentation -Updated introductory sections and back-of-the-book index -8 1/2" x 11" hardcover format to withstand heavy use -25% larger type for easier reading Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information.

Vital Statistics on American Politics 2007-2008 by Harold W. Stanley; Richard G. Niemi There is no other print source, online source, or Web search engine that provides the wide range and depth of insight found in Vital Statistics on American Politics. This new edition is updated with the most recent information available, including data on the 2006 congressional, and gubernatorial elections. What sets this book apart is the experience of editors Harold Stanley and Richard Niemi. These scholars consult hundreds of sources to calculate and locate the data, facts, and figures that offer a vivid and multifaceted portrait of the broad spectrum of United States politics and policies. In over 200 tables and figures, students, professional researchers, and interested citizens will find chapters devoted to key subject areas such as elections and political parties, public opinion and voting, the media, the three branches of U.S. government, foreign, military, social and economic policy, and much more. For depth of information and ease of use, this volume is the best resource of its kind available and should be a key component of all academic and large public library collections.

We the People by Benjamin Ginsberg; Theodore J. Lowi; Margaret Weir; Caroline J. Tolbert; Andrea L. Campbell We the People is the number one book for American government because of its unparalleled ability to help students understand American government--how it applies to them, and how they can participate. In her first edition as coauthor, Andrea Campbell used stories of real people to show students how government and politics can affect their lives and how individual participation matters. Now Campbell takes her emphasis on the citizen's role one step further with new How To guides that present concrete steps to effective political participation. With InQuizitive, a powerful, adaptive learning tool, as well as critical thinking exercises and NEW Weekly News Quizzes, We the People offers a wide array of resources to help students learn the concepts of American government and apply them to their own lives.

Careers and the Study of Political Science by American Political Science Association A crucial resource for today's undergraduate. This updated career guide explores the many career options availible to political science students and emphasizes the value of political science training.

Style Manual for Political Science by The American Political Science Association

Essentials of Political Research by Alan Monroe This text is a complete introduction to reseah methods in political science, covering all the topics typically included in a one semester undergraduate-level course. h concentrates on the basics of what a student needs to know how to do in order to be an effecise consumer of scientific research and begin to conduct his or her own research projects. The approach of 'learning by doing" is encouraged through nUmeroUs examples and exercises. The book is written in an informal style, with minimal use of technical jargon. Alan D. Monroe (Ph.D.. Indiana Univrsity) has taught introductory research methods at Illinois Slate University for more than 25 years. He has published research on a variety of topics, particularly of public opinion and public policy in the U.S.. and has also conducted a number of research projects for governmental agencies and private clients, including surveys for political campaigns.

Writing a Research Paper in Political Science by Lisa A. Baglione Even students capable of writing excellent essays still find their first major political science research paper an intimidating experience. Crafting the right research question, finding good sources, properly summarizing them, operationalizing concepts and designing good tests for their hypotheses, presenting and analyzing quantitative as well as qualitative data are all tough-going without a great deal of guidance and encouragement. This writing guide breaks down the research paper into its constituent parts and shows students what they need to do at each stage to successfully complete components until the paper is finished. Even writing an introduction, coming up with effective headings and titles, presenting a conclusion, and the important steps of editing and revising are covered with class-tested advice and know-how. In addition to using updated examples of student topics that pull from both American government and international relations, Baglione also includes examples of actual student writing to show readers how someone "just like them" accomplished tasks while writing their papers. Practical summaries, calendars, exercises, and a series of handy checklists make this a must-have supplement for any writing-intensive political science course.

The Irony of Democracy by Louis Schubert; Thomas R. Dye; Harmon Zeigler The question at the center of the sixteenth edition of THE IRONY OF DEMOCRACY is "How democratic is American society?" While most American government texts address politics from a pluralist perspective, this text approaches the subject by addressing the theme of elitism and contrasting it with democratic theory and modern pluralist theory. As a result, this text helps readers understand why the U.S. government works as it does.

Your Resume by Leonard Corwen

Approaches to Social Research by Royce A. Singleton; Bruce C. Straits; Margaret Miller Straits Thoroughly revised and updated to incorporate new research, the second edition of this remarkably popular work instills readers with the sense and skills they need to become intelligent consumers of research evidence, providing a lucid, accessible introduction to the various methods employed in a variety of fields, as well as an appreciation of social research as part of the larger context of social science. Offering over two dozen new research examples and over 100 new references, "user-friendly" diagrams of essential concepts and processes, and expanded coverage of current key topics and recent developments, it strikes a balance between specific techniques and the underlying logic of social inquiry--the how-to and wherefore of research. Opening chapters draw readers into the subject by illustrating the practicality of the study of research methods and the vital relationship between theory and research. The ensuing sequence of topics follows that of an ideal-typical research project--beginning with research design, measurement, and sampling, proceeding to data collection, and then to data processing and analysis. The authors focus on four major approaches to research--experimentation, survey research, field research, and the use of available data--and bring the material to life with numerous examples drawn from classic and current research. Advocating a multiple-methods strategy that treats these approaches as complementary, rather than mutually exclusive, the authors provide a full account of the benefits and drawbacks of using each, and describe the actual processes involved in research with each.

Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt; Stephen J. Dubner Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner offer the long-awaited paperback edition of Freakonomics, the runaway bestseller, including six Freakonomics columns from the New York Times Magazine and a Q & A with the authors. Which is more dangerous, a gun or a swimming pool? What do schoolteachers and sumo wrestlers have in common? How much do parents really matter? These may not sound like typical questions for an economist to ask. But Steven D. Levitt is not a typical economist. He studies the riddles of everyday life--from cheating and crime to parenting and sports--and reaches conclusions that turn conventional wisdom on its head. Freakonomics is a groundbreaking collaboration between Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner, an award-winning author and journalist. They set out to explore the inner workings of a crack gang, the truth about real estate agents, the secrets of the Ku Klux Klan, and much more. Through forceful storytelling and wry insight, they show that economics is, at root, the study of incentives--how people get what they want or need, especially when other people want or need the same thing.

Empirical Political Analysis by Jarol B. Manheim; Richard C. Rich; Lars Willnat; Craig Leonard Brians This comprehensive research methods text introduces students, both concretely and theoretically, to a wide variety of techniques, applications, and concerns that are important to political science research.

Comparative Politics Today by G. Bingham Powell; Russell J. Dalton; Kaare Strom Sets the standard for introducing the field of comparative politics   This text begins by laying out a proven analytical framework that is accessible for students new to the field. The framework is then consistently implemented in twelve authoritative country cases, not only to introduce students to what politics and governments are like around the world but to also understand the importance of their similarities and differences. Written by leading comparativists and area study specialists, Comparative Politics Today helps to sort through the world's complexity and to recognize patterns that lead to genuine political insight. MyPoliSciLab is an integral part of the Powell/Dalton/Strom program. Explorer is a hands-on way to develop quantitative literacy and to move students beyond punditry and opinion. Video Series features Pearson authors and top scholars discussing the big ideas in each chapter and applying them to enduring political issues.  Simulations are a game-like opportunity to play the role of a political actor and apply course concepts to make realistic political decisions.   ALERT: Before you purchase, check with your instructor or review your course syllabus to ensure that you select the correct ISBN. Several versions of Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products exist for each title, including customized versions for individual schools, and registrations are not transferable. In addition, you may need a CourseID, provided by your instructor, to register for and use Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products.   Packages Access codes for Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products may not be included when purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson; check with the seller before completing your purchase.   Used or rental books If you rent or purchase a used book with an access code, the access code may have been redeemed previously and you may have to purchase a new access code.   Access codes Access codes that are purchased from sellers other than Pearson carry a higher risk of being either the wrong ISBN or a previously redeemed code. Check with the seller prior to purchase.  

World Politics by Charles W. Kegley; Shannon L. Blanton WORLD POLITICS: TREND AND TRANSFORMATION offers analysis of the most up-to-date data, research, and contemporary events from today's international political stage. The book will help you understand what is happening today and why. This 2013-2014 UPDATE EDITION incorporates recent changes in leadership, the latest on the economic crisis, social media, and military technology, and new data from World Development Indicators and more. Our new partnership with the Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs provides more coverage of contemporary issues and resources to explore those issues than ever before. Co-author Shannon L. Blanton incorporates key concepts into the text from major theoretical perspectives to look at both historical and contemporary developments. This edition addresses topics such as war, terrorism, human rights, the environment, and international development while emphasizing an institutional approach to resolving international conflict. The authors present each issue in a thought-provoking way that encourages you to critically assess the problems, payoffs, pitfalls, and paradoxes of people's choices about the global future and the probable impact those choices will have on your life in the future.

Uneven Roads by Todd Shaw; Louis Desipio; Dianne Pinderhughes; Toni-Michelle C. Travis Uneven Roads helps you grasp how, when, and why race and ethnicity matter in U.S. politics. Using the metaphor of a road, with twists, turns, and dead ends, this incisive text takes you on a journey to understanding political racialization and the roots of modern interpretations of race and ethnicity. The book's structure and narrative are designed to encourage comparison and reflection. You will critically analyze the history and context of U.S. racial and ethnic politics to build the skills needed to draw your own conclusions. In the Second Edition of this groundbreaking text, authors Shaw, DeSipio, Pinderhughes, and Travis bring the historical narrative to life by addressing the most contemporary debates and challenges affecting U.S. racial and ethnic politics. You will explore important issues regarding voting rights, political representation, education and criminal justice policies, and the immigrant experience. A revised final chapter on intersectionality encourages you to examine how groups go beyond the boundaries of race and ethnicity to come together on matters of class, gender, and sexuality.

Crossroads of Modern Warfare by Drew Middleton

Writing in Political Science by Diane E. Schmidt Writing is the single most important tool of the political scientist's trade. While teaching her own classes, Diane E. Schmidt realized that no book on the market addressed the specific needs of the political science writer-the unique set of skills, vocabulary, sources, and methods of inquiry. Writing in Political Science: A Practical Guide, Second Edition does just that for almost any level of political science course, from freshman American government to senior capstone courses. Based on a Writing Across the Curriculum approach often mandated by state boards of higher education, this text offers clear, straightforward instructions, written in an engaging conversational tone which students will find easy to follow. Among its many features, this text includes: *NEW A thorough treatment of how to use the internet for political science research, including citation guidelines and information on evaluating sources *NEW thorough description of political inquiry and what it involves *An easy to use topics selection guide tied to subdisciplines in the field *Examples of every kind of writing assignment used in the discipline *Sections addressing common writing problems faced by students *A chapter explaining the basics of writing letters of introduction, vitaes, and resume

Unsolved History: Suicide Bombers by Discovery Channel he suicide truck bombing of US Marine Forces in Lebanon, in 1983, ushered in a new era of warfare and a new weapon. It was the precursor to the shocking terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. Study the Beirut bombing as a microcosm of a current trend.

Gattaca Vincent Freeman (Ethan Hawke) has always fantasized about traveling into outer space, but is grounded by his status as a genetically inferior "in-valid." He decides to fight his fate by purchasing the genes of Jerome Morrow (Jude Law), a laboratory-engineered "valid." He assumes Jerome's DNA identity and joins the Gattaca space program, where he falls in love with Irene (Uma Thurman). An investigation into the death of a Gattaca officer (Gore Vidal) complicates Vincent's plans.

One Woman, One Vote by PBS A look at the history of the women's suffrage movement.