LibGuides: Ed.S in Curriculum & Instruction: Finding Articles

ERIC Database Tutorial

ERIC (EBSCOHost)

Advanced Search Tutorial

Use the Thesaurus!

Thesaurus of ERIC descriptors by Educational Resources Information Center
Call Number: REF Z695.1 .E300 E34 2001
ISBN: 1573563307
Publication Date: 2001

Use the Thesaurus in ERIC or the one in your library's reference collection to find more search terms.

Thesaurus of ERIC descriptors:

Descriptors are the controlled vocabulary for the database -- similar to the subject headings in the online catalog
Default searching searches all fields for your search term (author, title, descriptors, keywords, and full text of the abstract)

Watch this 3 minute tutorial on using the Thesaurus in ERIC:

Thesaurus Tutorial

Finding Articles

Use the links below to access recommended databases for searching Education related articles. The best source for finding research materials in education is the database: ERIC (EBSCOhost). ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) is co-ordinated by the U.S. Department of Education. It is available in three different versions through the library but using the Ebscohost version will give you the best access to the library’s full text journal holdings within the database. Use the online or print thesaurus (REF Z695.1 .E300 E34 2001) to identify the best search terms (There is a great tutorial video for using the Thesaurus in ERIC on the bottom left of this page).

Education Source This link opens in a new window
An authoritative resource for the study of education. It contains over 1,800 journals, 550 books, and over 5 million citations.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (at EBSCOhost), Educational Resources Information Center, database covers all aspects of education and educational research. ERIC provides access to education-related resources, including journal and non-journal bibliographic information. Journal articles are assigned ERIC numbers that begin with EJ (e.g., EJ777687). Non-journal documents are assigned ERIC numbers that begin wtih ED (e.g., ED493647). Types of non-journal materials indexed in ERIC include books; conference proceedings and selected presentations; literature reviews and bibliographies; Congressional hearings and reports; reports on federal/state standards, testing, and regulations; research reports; U.S. Department of Education and contractor reports; and working papers from established research and policy organizations. Materials indexed through July 2004 also included lesson plans.
Journal Locator (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
List of journal titles with links to various electronic full text articles. Dates of holdings are included.
PsychINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
citations, abstracts, psychology, behavioral sciences

Current Education Print Journals for 2014

What to look for:

A peer reviewed research study normally includes:

nInfo on author(s) :

credentials &/or affiliations

nAbstract

nLiterature review

nMethod of inquiry /

Method of data collection

nResults of study

nDiscussion of results

nCharts and graphs

nConclusion :

Use of Results or Implications

for Future Research

nReferences (usually lengthy)