The Dictionary of Genealogy by 
The Source by
Genealogists and other historical researchers have valued the first two editions of this work, often referred to as the genealogist's bible."" The new edition continues that tradition. Intended as a handbook and a guide to selecting, locating, and using appropriate primary and secondary resources, The Source also functions as an instructional tool for novice genealogists and a refresher course for experienced researchers. More than 30 experts in this field--genealogists, historians, librarians, and archivists--prepared the 20 signed chapters, which are well written, easy to read, and include many helpful hints for getting the most out of whatever information is acquired. Each chapter ends with an extensive bibliography and is further enriched by tables, black-and-white illustrations, and examples of documents. Eight appendixes include the expected contact information for groups and institutions that persons studying genealogy and history need to find. ""
A Dictionary of Surnames by
Anybody who has ever wondered about the origin of a family name will find the answer in this new dictionary, which explains the origin and meaning of all the common surnames in the English-speaking world, together with many other rarer English names and foreign names. It also givesinformation, where possible, about their history and distribution, and about some of the notable people who have borne them.The dictionary is based on extensive study of the literature of surname research in all the major European languages. Specialist consultants for particular areas, including the Celtic languages, Iberian languages, and Jewish names, have provided much information not previously available.This title is also announced in the Oxford General Books catalogue for Autumn 1988.
Dictionary of American Family Names by
Where did your surname come from? Do you know how many people in the United States share it? What does it tell you about your lineage?From the editor of the highly acclaimed Dictionary of Surnames comes the most extensive compilation of surnames in America. The result of 10 years of research and 30 consulting editors, this massive undertaking documents 70,000 surnames of Americans across the country. A reference source like noother, it surveys each surname giving its meaning, nationality, alternate spellings, common forenames associated with it, and the frequency of each surname and forename.The Dictionary of American Family Names is a fascinating journey throughout the multicultural United States, offering a detailed look at the meaning and frequency of surnames throughout the country. For students studying family genealogy, others interested in finding out more about their ownlineage, or lexicographers, the Dictionary is an ideal place to begin research.
Ancestry in America by
This information-packed reference work, greatly expanded to two information-packed volumes, is a comparative guide to over 200 ethnic backgrounds across the US. Illustrating Where We Come From, How We Identify Ourselves and Where We Live Now, it is the mo
Some rights reserved