LibGuides: Nutrition: Nutrition

Print books

Nutrition by (Opposing Viewpoints)
Call Number: REF HM216 .O645 V.20

ISBN: 9780737757514

Publication Date: 2011
CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition
Call Number: REF QP141 .B523 2011

ISBN: 9781439848449

"Explains hundreds of terms commonly used in medicine, food science, metabolism, physiology, and nutrition. A compilation of terms of interest to the nutritionist and non-nutritionist, this book is an alphabetical list of medical terms, drugs, biochemical, genetic and physiological terms relevant to understanding the need for and use of nutrients."

Available on the Library shelves, organized by their Call Numbers. Mostly Reference books which must be used in the Library.

Diet and Nutrition Sourcebook
Call Number: REF RA784 .D534 2011

ISBN: 9780780811522

"Provides information about current dietary guidelines, nutrition intake, and proportions for all life stages, infants to seniors, and various life styles including singles, families, vegetarians, athletes, along with tips for eating out. It provides guidance for weight control, information about supplements, and nutrition advice for people with specific medical concerns including artificial hydration and nutrition, cancer, celiac disease, diabetes, food allergies, and heart disease."
Bowes and Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used
Call Number: REF TX551 .P385 2010

ISBN: 9780781781343

"Authoritative data on the nutritional value of foods in a form for quick and easy reference. The book's main table reflects the current food supply; listing more than 6,300 common foods;and contains data on the nutritional content of foods, organized by food groups."
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
Call Number: REF QP141 .E526 2005 V.1-4

ISBN: 0121501108

"Expanded coverage of epidemiology of diet-related diseases, functional foods, food safety, clinical nutrition and gastrointestinal disorders"

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Articles, some peer-reviewed, across all disciplines.

Databases of books and articles that will be helpful for many Nutrition topics. The 'General' databases are a good place to start, and the more subject specific may be helpful depending on your topic.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health. Includes fulltext articles.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Articles for nursing and health.
Credo Reference
A collection of reference books, with images; covering arts, humanities, sciences, medicine, business, and social sciences
MEDLINE (at EBSCOhost)
Articles from medical journals.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, men and women's health, and more.

Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Merck Manual
19th edition, 2011; The topics in this reference book are updated regularly to add the latest clinical information. Each topic page displays the date it was last reviewed and revised.
Research Library (at ProQuest)
General index with articles on all topics.

Electronic Books

Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9781405173582

Publication Date: 2012

"Spanning a broad range of cultural groups the book seeks to consider religious and cultural requirements in relation to traditional diets; research on migration studies and chronic disease states; and nutrition and dietetic treatment in relation to key chronic diseases."

A sample of our available electronic books. Search the Library's Online Catalog (see link in the right-hand column) for access to many more, on all aspects of nutrition.

Click on the blue titles to link to the book contents.

Vitamins and Minerals
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9780313382253

Publication Date: 2011
Nutrition and Disease Prevention
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 1604137770

Publication Date: 2010

"Delves into the complex relationship between nutrition and the prevention of disease. From classic deficiency diseases to problems of metabolism and nutrient absorption, and from severe malnutrition to obesity, nutritional status means the difference between health and sickness or even life and death."
The Fats of Life: Essential Fatty Acids in Health and Disease
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9780813546773

Publication Date: 2010

"Facts about fatty acids and their relationship to heart disease and atherosclerosis, obesity, cancer, and neurological disorders..."
Sports Nutrition and Exercise
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9780763778866

Publication Date: 2010

"provides answers to questions that athletes, athletic trainers and coaches may have about sports nutrition. Equipped with case studies, quick tips, and testimonials, this guide covers topics such as: vitamins and minerals, fluids, medications and supplements, weight management, warm ups and cool downs, flexibility, and more."
The Complete Guide to Nutrition in Primary Care
ISBN: 9781405104746

Publication Date: 2007

Librarian

Stephanie Barnes

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

LaGrange College
Frank and Laura Lewis Library
601 Broad St
LaGrange, GA
30240

706-880-8311

Helpful Links

Useful Web Sites

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (formerly the American Dietetic Association) was founded in 1917, and is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals. The Academy is committed to improving the nation's health and advancing the profession of dietetics through research, education and advocacy.

Nutrition: Nutrition