--> Skip to main content

Military History: Masters of War

Books and E-books

Use the online catalog to find books, e-books, videos, and CDs.

 

  • Do an “Author” search in the catalog for books BY the person you’re researching.
  • Do a “Subject” search for books entirely or largely ABOUT that person.
  • Do a “Words or phrase” search to find other books with a chapter about (or by) the person.

 

Some books by military theorists:

Sun Tzu (6th century BC; the Library of Congress spells his name “Sunzi”)

  • The Art of War (U 101 .S95 1988; also available as an e-book)

 

Please contact me if you want to order books or articles on interlibrary loan.

 

 

Thucydides (ca. 455-ca. 395 BC)

  • Thucydides (PA 4452 .A2 1980, 4 volumes)
  • Another translation included in The History of Herodotus; The History of the Peloponnesian War (AC  1 .G72 V.6)

 

Julius Caesar (100-44 BC)

  • The Gallic War (PA 6239 .A1 H36 1982 and PA6156 .C38 v. 1)
  • The Civil Wars (DG 266 .C42 1976  and PA6156 .C38 v. 2)
  • Alexandrian War, African War, Spanish War (PA 6156 .C38 V.3)

 

Machiavelli (1469-1527)

  • The Art of War (e-book)
  • The Prince and Other Works (JC 143 .M340 1964)
  • See the online catalog for other primary sources

 

Carl von Clausewitz (1780-1831)

 

Alfred Thayer Mahan (1840-1914)

  • The Influence of Sea Power upon History, 1660-1783 (D b27 .M215 1957)
  • Sea Power in Its Relations to the War of 1812 (E 354 .M213, 2 volumes)
  • The Interest  of America in Sea Power, Present and Future (V7 .M219)
  • Mahan on Naval Warfare:  Selections from the Writings of Rear Admiral Alfred T. Mahan (V17 .M223 1948)
  • The Life of Nelson, The Embodiment of the Sea Power of Great Britain (Storage, DA87.1 .N4 M3)
  • Admiral Farragut (E467.1 .F23 M24 1983)

 

Mao Tse-tung

  • The Political Thought of Mao Tse-tung (DS 778 .M3 A538 1969)
  • Quotations from Chairman Mao Tse-tung (DS 778 .M3 A31353 1967B)

 

You’ll find books about these strategists in the same call number areas.

 

Some other books in the Stacks:

 

  • Handel. Miichael I.  Masters of War:  Classical Strategic Thought (3rd ed.) (U 27 .H366 2001; covers Sun Tzu, Clauusewitz, Mao tse-tung etc.)
  • Earle, Edward Mead, ed.  Makers of Modern Strategy:  Military Thought from Machiavelli to Hitler (U 39 .E2 1971; chapters on Machiavelli, Jomini, Clausewitz, Mahan)
  • Paret, Peter, ed.  Makers of Modern Strategy from Machiavelli to the Nuclear Age (U 162 .M25 1986; ditto)
  • Weigley, Rusell F.  The American Way of War:  A History of United States Military Strategy and Policy (UA 23 .W3695 1977)
  • Nisbet, Robert A.  The Social Philosophers:  Community and Conflict in Western Thought (JA 81 .N57; chapters on “Macchiavelli and the Art of War” and Clausewitz)
  • Rise, Lisle A.  Power at Sea:  The Age of Navalism, 1890-1918.  (VA 18 .R75 2007; prologue on “The Master:  Alfred Thayer Mahan”)

 

E-books include:

Reference books and databases

Some reference books

  • Encyclopedia of World Biography (REF CT 103 .E56 1997, 30 volumes; articles on Mahan vol. 10, Clausewitz vol. 20, Jomini vol. 23, etc.)
  • Magill’s Guide to Military History (REF D 25 .A200 M34 2001, 5 vols.; Sunzi, Jomini, Clausewitz etc.)
  • The Encyclopedia of Ancient History (REF D 54 .E53 2013, 13 vols.)
  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of Greece and Rome (REF DE 5 .O95 2010, 7 vols.; Thucydides)
  • Ancient Writers (REF PA 3992 .A5 1982) and other books in the PA’s for Thucydides, Caesar etc.
  • Encyclopedia of the Renaissance (REF CB 361 .E52 1999, 5 vols.) – Machiavelli
  • Italy:  A Reference Guide from the Renaissance to the Present (REF DG 461 .S277 2004)
  • International Military and Defense Encyclopedia (REF U 24 .I58 1993, 5 vols.) (Sun Tzu, Jomini, etc.)
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History (REF VK 15 .O84 2007, 4 vols.) (Alfred Thayer Mahan)

 

The Dictionary of Literary Biography database has articles on:

 

Other databases with reference books include:

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (includes The Dictionary of American History, History in Dispute, The Encyclopedia of Political Science)
  • Oxford Reference Online (includes The Oxford Companion to Military History, The Oxford Companion to American Military History, The Oxford Essential Dictionary of the U.S. Military, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology)

Journal articles

© 2011 LaGrange College | 601 Broad Street, LaGrange, GA 30240 | www.lagrange.edu
Default/main header image used:Attribution Some rights reserved