Welcome to the library research guide for Dr. Shirley's History 3372 class, "Europe 1660-1870," taught in Fall 2018.
The reference section is often the best place to start your research, not only for background information but for bibliographies of other sources--especially primary sources. The books listed below are only a sample; you’ll find more with similar call numbers for their topics (DA for Britain, DC for France, DD for Germany, etc.), or see me to find books on your specific topics.
For primary sources:
If you’re researching Elizabethan times, you may also want to look at:
Most reference books on the history of Europe are in the REF D area (see this for a further breakdown). Books on historiography are in the REF D 13 to REF D 20 range.
You may also want to check a couple of our databases that provide full text from reference books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: provides PDF full-text for several multi-volume history reference sources, including Women in World History, History in Dispute, and the Dictionary of American History; also sources such as the Encyclopedia of Religion and the 28-volume Complete Dictionary of Scientific Bibliography.
Oxford Reference Online: provides full test for many reference books (though most are only a single volume), including A Dictionary of British History (3rd ed. 2015), Oxford Companion to British History (2nd ed. 2015; our print edition is from 1997), The Kings and Queens of Britain (2009), the Oxford Companion to Military History (2004), the Oxford Companion to Ships and the Sea (2nd ed. 2006), and the Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment (2004, also available in print).
Use the online catalog to find books, e-books, DVDs, and CDs in the Lewis Library.
A "words or phrase" search will usually get some results, e.g., "italian nationalism" (or "ital$ and nationalism"in the catalog $ is the truncation symbol, so ital$ retrieves "Italy," "Italian," "Italians" etc.). But to search more efficiently, determine the Library of Congress subject heading(s) for your topic (see this guide for tips on how to do this). For example, do a title search for “glorious revolution,” then look at the “Catalog record” of a relevant book and you'll see that the subject heading is:
Here are some subject headings that looked relevant for some of the topics submitted:
Be sure to consult bibliographies for further sources, especially primary sources. If you find citations for books (or articles) our library lacks, see the reference librarian (or e-mail him at email@example.com) to order them on interlibrary loan. Try to allow two weeks for interlibrary loan books (the average is 7 days, but some take longer).
Primary sources: Adding “sources” or “personal narratives” to the “Subject” box may help you find some primary sources:
Napoleonic Wars, 1800-1815--Personal narratives
You can also try an “Author” search for participants in events (e.g., Napoleon I) to find their memoirs, journals, letters, papers, etc.
WorldCat: WorldCat allows you to search practically every library in the US (and some in other countries), so it can help you identify books you can order on interlibrary loan. Again, determine the subject headings for your topic, for example:
As in the online catalog, try including “sources” or “personal narratives” in the subject box.
Don’t hesitate to ask the reference librarian for help; WorldCat is a valuable tool, but the GALILEO interface isn’t user-friendly (though it’s slightly better than the free worldcat.org site). Read the “description” and full record to make sure the books you find are appropriate (not too old, or juvenile fiction) and to determine whether they’re scholarly.
If you find books you’d like to order on interlibrary loan, please e-mail the reference librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org . You can paste the citations from WorldCat (please don’t use the “Request Item through Interlibrary Loan” button in WorldCat).
Google Books: Books published before 1922 are in the public domain and may be available free online in Google Books (or similar sites such as the Internet Archive or Hathi Trust). For example, I found an 1818 book Narrative of a Journey in the Interior of China… that looks as if it should be a primary source for the Amherst embassy; you can download it here.
Use GALILEO databases to find articles from journals. The best databases for this course will probably be:
Others that may be worth trying, especially if your subject isn’t just historical:
In most databases (such as Historical Abstracts), you won’t be searching the full text of the article, but the bibliographic record (title, subject terms, and abstract; the abstract provides a summary of the article’s content). Rather than typing many words into the search box, you should type single words or short terms, linked with Boolean operators: AND, OR, NOT. We have separate library guides if you want to review database searching or Boolean operators.
You may also want to use truncation; a search for educat* will retrieve “education," "educator(s)," "educated," etc.
A “FullText Finder” link should take you to full text in another database. If there’s no full text, e-mail the reference librarian; we may have the journal on the shelf, or we can order the article on interlibrary loan.
As with the catalog, look for “Subject terms” (also called "descriptors") in Historical Abstracts, e.g.: Stuart Period, Great Britain, 1603-1714
JSTOR provides PDF full text for many scholarly journals from the first issue published up to about five years ago.
Tips for JSTOR:
Project Muse works like JSTOR; it has full text for many scholarly journals; but often for only the last few years (and has fewer History journals).
Note that Historical Abstracts has citations for far more History journals than JSTOR or Project Muse (and will usually link to the full text of articles that we have in the other databases).
Finding full text for articles: If you have an article citation from a bibliography, rather than a database, you can determine whether we have full text online by using the Journal Locator, or on the shelf by checking Lewis Library's periodical holdings. If in doubt, ask a librarian or e-mail us. Remember that we can order articles for you on interlibrary loan.