--> Skip to main content

Newspapers: New York Times

Register for New York Times Online

Currently enrolled LaGrange College students, faculty, and staff can register for complimentary access to the New York Times online.  This includes both current stories and features, and access to PDF of archival news stories back to 1851.

To get this:

 

To access older New York Times articles from this site, use the “Search” icon at the upper left of the page.  The reference librarian can help you find what you need.

New York Times

We can provide full text for any article from the New York Times, but you can't access all dates the same way. 

For full text (no images) from July 1980 to the present, use News & Newspapers (ProQuest), or this link to restrict your search to the Times..

There are two ways to search for pre- 1980 New York Times articles: 

  1. Online: The New York Times Article Archive (see below) lets you search the text of articles, but works only if you use search terms that appear in the article. 
  2. Sometimes the print New York Times Index (1851-2000, large red books in the reference collection near the Atlases) is an easier way to find articles on a specific topic from a specific year, or to follow a developing story. See the reference librarian. 

The New York Times Article Archive allows you to search full text of the New York Times since 1851. 

  • Anyone can download free PDFs for articles published before 1923 (i.e., 1851 through 1922).
  • If you've registered as a LaGrange College user, you can get PDFs for articles after 1922 (see the box on the left).
  • If you haven't registered, the Archive usually charges for articles since 1923, but you can use this site to identify articles, print out the citations, then see a librarian.  We should be able to provide the article, if necessary from microfilm.  
  • For articles since 1980, ProQuest Newspapers is easier to search (see above for link). 

We have microfilm for the New York Times from 1851 through 2000, and can help you print articles.  Printing is currently free (though as of June 2019, the printer isn't working; if you have a smart phone, you can try taking pictures).

Reference & ILL Librarian

Arthur Robinson's picture
Arthur Robinson
Contact:
Office 706-880-8289
Ref. Desk 706-880-8957
© 2011 LaGrange College | 601 Broad Street, LaGrange, GA 30240 | www.lagrange.edu
Default/main header image used:Attribution Some rights reserved