LibGuides: National History Day: Newspapers

New York Times

We can provide full text for any article from the New York Times, but you can't access all dates the same way.

For full text (no images) from July 1980 to the present, use News & Newspapers (ProQuest), or this link to restrict your search to the Times..

There are two ways to search for pre- 1980 New York Times articles:

Online: The New York Times Article Archive (see below) lets you search the text of articles, but works only if you use search terms that appear in the article.
Sometimes the print New York Times Index (1851-2000, large red books in the reference collection near the Atlases) is an easier way to find articles on a specific topic from a specific year, or to follow a developing story. See the reference librarian.

The New York Times Article Archive allows you to search full text of the New York Times since 1851.

Anyone can download free PDFs for articles published before 1923 (i.e., 1851 through 1922).
If you've registered as a LaGrange College user, you can get PDFs for articles after 1922 (see the box on the left).
If you haven't registered, the Archive usually charges for articles since 1923, but you can use this site to identify articles, print out the citations, then see a librarian. We should be able to provide the article, if necessary from microfilm.
For articles since 1980, ProQuest Newspapers is easier to search (see above for link).

We have microfilm for the New York Times from 1851 through 2000, and can help you print articles. Printing is currently free (though as of March 2020, the printer isn't working; if you have a smart phone, you can try taking pictures).

US Newspapers

Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984) This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the Atlanta Constitution dating back to 1868. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF files. Coverage ends in 1984.

New York Times
Chronicling America
Collection of U.S. newspapers (1836-1922) digitized by the Library of Congress.

Georgia Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Page-level images, historic Georgia newspapers

LaGrange Reporter and other West Georgia newspapers
The West Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive has full text for several West Georgia newspapers, including the LaGrange Herald from 1843-1844 and LaGrange Reporter (incomplete) between 1857 and 1914. (Years currently covered for the LaGrange Reporter seem to be 1857, 1859-1860, 1862, 1865-6, 1868-1871, 1877-9, 1892-3, 1897-1903, 1905, 1907-1914.)

Great Britain Newspapers

Times Digital Archive 1785-2012 This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2006, is Gale's premier online historical archive, delivering every page as published from over 200 years of The Times (London). The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events. Full page content is viewable, including headlines, articles, images and advertisements.

Sunday Times Digital Archive
Sunday edition of the Times (London) from 1822 to 2006.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Weekly paper; a good source for politics, theater, and literature.

Galileo

Galileo provides access to several newspaper databases. These include (all links are listed bellow):

News & Newspapers (ProQuest)

Probably the easiest database to use for major US newspapers, including the New York Times (July 1980 to the present), Atlanta Journal/Constitution (since 1990), Washington Post (since 1987), and Los Angeles Times (since 1985).

Newspaper Source

Full text back to 1995 for 35 newspapers, including the Washington Post and Washington Times.

Journal Locator

To determine whether we have full text for a specific newspaper, go to Journal Locator and type the newspaper title (or city, e.g. "Columbus") into the "Search" box.

News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Newspapers offers international, national, regional, and local papers including The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Detailed indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas and provides access to detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc.

The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984) This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the Atlanta Constitution dating back to 1868. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF files. Coverage ends in 1984.

1990 - Present
ProQuest Newspapers - Select "Atlanta Journal & Constitution" (the first option).

Microfilm

Ask a librarian for assistance in locating microfilm and using the microfilm reader-printer. (As of March 2020 the printer isn't working, but you can read microfilm or microfiche on our machine, and try taking pictures with your phone.)

Lewis Library has microfilm for:

New York Times - 1851 through 2000
LaGrange Daily News - May 1934-August 1936 and October 1972-February 1989
Wesleyan Christian Advocate, vols. 41-70 (1878-1906), 101-119 (1937-1957)

LaGrange Memorial Library (115 Alford Street) has microfilm for the following:

Atlanta Constitution (17 June 1868-Dec. 1899), Atlanta Journal (1900-1976), Atlanta Constitution (1977-1994)
Hogansville Herald (5 March 1980 - 30 December 1996)
LaGrange Daily News (4 August 1871 - 31 August 2006, but with some gaps)
Incomplete holdings for LaGrange Reporter, LaGrange Shuttle, and LaGrange Graphic

Memorial Library also has indexes for the LaGrange Daily News (1981-1987 and 1989) and Atlanta Constitution (1976-1979, 1985-1994), and microfilm for some magazines not in the LaGrange College Library (e.g., Sports Illustrated for 1970-1977).