This book covers land, air, and naval forces, primarily but not exclusively from a U.S. perspective, with the welcome emergence of "small wars" from publishing obscurity. In addition to identifying relevant organizations and associations, Blewett has gathered together the very best in chronologies, bibliographies, biographical dictionaries, indexes, journals, abstracts, glossaries, and encyclopedias, each accompanied by a brief descriptive annotation."
Fifty Key Works of History and Historiographyintroduces some of the most important works ever written by those who have sought to understand, capture, query and interpret the past. The works covered include texts from ancient times to the present day and from different cultural traditions ensuring a wide variety of schools, methods and ideas are introduced.
The Handbook for Classical Researchoffers guidance to students needing to learn more about the different fields and subfields of classical research, and its methods and resources. The book is divided into 7 parts: The Basics, Language, The Traditional Fields, The Physical Remains, The Written Word, The Classics and Related Disciplines, The Classics since Antiquity.
Users can quickly choose from the 100 important events, spanning from the first Indian contact with European explorers in 1535 to the Native American Languages Act of 1990. Coverage includes Indian wars and treaties, acts and Supreme Court decisions, to founding of Indian newspapers and activist groups, and key cultural events. Each event entry begins with a brief summary to pique interest and then offers original and thought-provoking term paper ideas in both standard and alternative formats that often incorporate the latest in electronic media, such as iPod and iMovie. The best in primary and secondary sources for further research are then annotated, followed by vetted, stable Web site suggestions and multimedia resources, usually films, for further viewing and listening.
This bibliography of books, articles, monographs, and dissertations features more than 4,700 entries, divided into twenty-four subject areas such as activism and protest; Appalachian Studies; arts and crafts; community culture and folklife; education; environment; ethnicity, race and identity; health and medicine; media and stereotypes; recreation and tourism; religion; and women and gender. The region is defined as including all or portions of New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Maryland, West Virginia, Kentucky, Virginia, North Carolina, Tennessee, South Carolina, Mississippi, Alabama, and Georgia. Two indexes--one of authors, compilers, editors and interviewers, the other of subjects--conclude the bibliography.
A comprehensive, annotated bibliography detailing the globally significant conflict and its aftermath. Insightful notes are included for every title in each chronologically organized chapter. By drawing together an impressive collection of sources, including some previously not readily available to English language readers, Barnes has created an invaluable resource for scholars of this conflict.
An authoritative guide to the wide range of media available on the U.S. involvement in Vietnam. From collections of art work and poetry about the soldiering experience, to journalistic accounts of battles, and military training films, the entries consistently provide clear and concise descriptions, allowing the reader to easily identify the value of any particular resource.
This guide covers the origins of the War of 1812 providing a general overview of the significant battles that occurred at sea and in the area of the present-day Great Lakes and U.S.-Canadian border. The key features of this research guide are the bibliographical elements, namely lists of published books, articles, and on-line resources pertaining to the War of 1812, as well as references to archival resources available in the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada.
Each entry is accompanied by a brief annotation that will allow researchers to navigate through the vast amount of literature on the campaigns fought in these regions with ease. Focusing on all aspects surrounding the U.S. involvement in the Western European and Mediterranean theaters, including politics, religion, biography, strategy, intelligence, and operations.