"Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more."
This is a multi-disciplinary database with full-text articles. You should check “Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals” to ensure that your results exclude popular titles. You may elect to check “Academic Journals” as a way to avoid having Book Reviews in your results.
"History Reference Center is a full-text history reference database that features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video."
This is a multi-disciplinary database with full text for most articles. It has many full-text as well as many other scholarly journals but some more popular journals such as History Today. Research Library provides a customized form for History searches. It defaults to peer reviewed articles and students can limit searches to articles and exclude book reviews.
This is a collection of primary source databases that allow students to research all aspects of American history. It includes access to: America’s Historical Imprints, America’s Historical Newspapers, African American Newspapers (1827-1998), Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1998), and American State Papers (1789-1838).
With coverage from 1941 to 1996 FBIS Daily Reports represents the principal record of political and historical open source intelligence. It represents a rich archive of foreign broadcasts, news reports, etc. by foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. An excellent primary source.
The world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, the Illustrated London News Historical Archive includes high-quality color facsimile images that bring to life more than 150 years of social, political and cultural history for scholarly and enthusiast researchers.
GALE Virtual Reference; NewsVault; Archives Unbound; The Times (London) Digital Archive; 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection; Sabin Americana, 1500-1926; The Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive; National Geography Virtual Library; The Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003; Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950; and Picture Post Historical Archive (1938-1957).