--> Skip to main content

History: Quick Links

Databases for Journal Articles

Other Links

There are  other databases that may be useful depending on your topic.  Again, see the reference librarian for details.

 

 

Quick Links

This page is a "quick and dirty" guide for some basic electronic resources.  See the reference librarian for assistance or if you have questions (you can also e-mail arobinson@lagrange.edu or  refdesk@lagrange.edu).

World Cat

You'll want to start your search for books with the Lewis Library online catalog .  (Our ebrary and NetLibrary e-books are in the catalog; to search full text of our ebrary e-books, now called "Ebook Central (ProQuest)," use this link.)  But WorldCat will help you locate books on your topic in other libraries in the US that you can order on interlibrary loan (ILL).  It may also be useful in identifying some primary sources.  You can order books on ILL by e-mailing the WorldCat record to arobinson@lagrange.edu (be sure to include your name, e-mail address, and the course it's for).

WorldCat is no longer available through GALILEO; you can access the free version online using the link below, but it isn't user-friendly.  I have access to the old version; don't hesitate to see me if I can help--I'll be happy to sit down with you and help you search. 

 

Newspaper Databases

Other electronic resources

Journal Locator - the simplest way to determine whether we have full text online for a periodical, if you already have a citation.  (The interface has changed; this guide has tips on using it, but the image illustrates the old version.)  We also have many journals in our "Bound periodicals" area; see or e-mail the reference librarian to ask if we have the article you need.)

Reference libguide - has sections on biographical resources, determining subject headings, using Boolean operators, etc.

Interlibrary loan libguide - information on ILL at LaGrange College

New Georgia Encyclopedia

Google Books - has free PDF for many public domain books and magazines up to 1922.  Two other sites that have PDF for public domain books and periodicals are the Internet Archive and Hathi Trust.

UNZ.org - UNZ provides citations for many magazines and full text for some, even after 1922.

Library of Congress Classification Outline - will help you identify call number ranges for a country or continent (e.g., DD for Germany, DT for Africa).

 

Books for HIST 2000, Spring 2019

These two books are required texts for Dr. Shirley's History 2000 (Methods) class for Spring 2019.  We have them as e-books; to view them, click on the titles (for teh first, click "Read Online," NOT "Download Book").

Booth, The Craft of Research (4th ed. 2016) (we may also have a hard copy on the lower level, call number Q 180.55 .M4 B66 2016)

Shertzer, Elements of Grammar (1996)

 

 

© 2011 LaGrange College | 601 Broad Street, LaGrange, GA 30240 | www.lagrange.edu
Default/main header image used:Attribution Some rights reserved