LibGuides: HIST 4499: The Wild, Wild, West: Primary Sources

Search GALILEO

General Digital Collections

Sabin Americana 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Full-text books, serials, and other documents about the Americas published between 1500 and the early 20th century
Digital Public Library of America: Primary Source Sets This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project This link opens in a new window
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Primary sources are available here mainly for use in high-school and university/college courses.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Topically-focused digital collections of historical primary documents supporting multi-disciplinary research in history, political science, hard science, ethnic studies and more.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
American periodicals published between 1684 and 1820.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection includes digitized images from more than 500 American periodicals, documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the early 19th-century. Historical subject strengths include Afro-Americana, agriculture and industry, science, medicine, and technology, religion, literature, politics and government, and family life. LaGrange College subscribes to Series I-V of the collection. Use this link for Series I, which contains original articles from 1684 to 1820.

See also: American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection series 2-5

AncestryLibrary This link opens in a new window
An invaluable resource for genealogical research, Ancestry compiles primary resources from over 4,000 collections, including the U.S. Federal Census from 1790-1950, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, the Social Security Death Index, Federal Slave Narratives, and more.
National Archives Catalog This link opens in a new window
The official online portal for digitized archival records from the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration, including millions of artifacts, images, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
The official portal for the Library of Congress digital collections, including digitized historic American newspapers, photographs, audio recordings, web archives, and more.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
New York Times - Times Machine This link opens in a new window
The NYT Times Machine offers access to full-text searchable articles published by the New York Times from 1851-2002.
Please visit http://www.accessnyt.com in order to sign up for your complimentary account with your LaGrange College e-mail address.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid
Looking for archival records? Consider using ArchiveGrid to look for both physical and digital archival materials across the country. Note that access to physical archives cannot always be guaranteed if you cannot travel to their location, though some may offer scans of small amounts of items.

Databases A-Z

Databases A-Z
If a standard GALILEO search is returning too many irrelevant results, you may want to search within a more specific database. Use our Database A-Z list to search for relevant databases by title, keyword, or subject.

Digital Collections on the West

Mountain West Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A central search portal for digital collections about the Mountain West region, MWDL provides free access to over 1,000,000 resources from a network of universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, historical societies, and government agencies, counties, and municipalities in Utah, Nevada, Oregon, and other parts of the U.S. West.
Mountain Men and the Fur Trade This link opens in a new window
An openly accessible website that provides sources of the History of the Fur Trade in the Rocky Mountain West. Includes diaries, narratives, letters, business records, artwork, portraits, maps, and more.
Colorado Plateau Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
The official online portal of the Cline Library's Colorado Plateau Archives, providing open access to over 50,000 digitized artifacts related to the history of the Colorado Plateau.
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 This link opens in a new window
A digital collection curated by Harvard University related to immigration to the United States from 1789-1930.
U.S. West: Photographs, Manuscripts, and Imprints This link opens in a new window
A curated digital collection of photographs, manuscripts, and imprints from the DeGolyer Library at the Southern Methodist University, focused on the U.S. West.
Museum of the City of San Francisco This link opens in a new window
A digital collection on the history of San Francisco, provided by the Museum of the City of San Francisco. Collection is searchable by subject or by year.
Princeton Collections of the American West This link opens in a new window
A collection of digitized artifacts related to the American West and held by the Princeton University Library.

HIST 4499: The Wild, Wild, West: Primary Sources

About this Page

Search GALILEO

General Digital Collections

ArchiveGrid

Databases A-Z

Digital Collections on the West