--> Skip to main content

HIST 2499/HIST 4499: The Wild, Wild, West: Reference Sources

Selected Reference Books

Jot down the call number to find the suggested books below in the library's Reference section (main/2nd floor).  Don't hesitate to ask a librarian for assistance.

Electronic Reference Sources

Click on the links to visit the sources below online!

Selected Titles in Reference Collection

The following selected titles can be found in the Reference Collection on the Main Level of the library.  Don't hesitate to ask a librarian for assistance.
  • American National Biography REF E176 .D58
  • Dictionary of American History  REF E174 .D522
  • Documents of American History  REF Z1236 .B48
  • Encyclopedia of American Social History REF HN57 .E58 1993
  • Encylcopedia of the American West REF F591 .NE485 1996
  • Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century REF E169.1 .E626 2001
  • Handbook of North American Indians  REF E77 .H25
  • Handbook of the American Frontier  REF E76.2 .H43
  • Handbook for research in American History REF Z1236 .P78 1987
  • Historical gazetteer of the United States  REF E154 .H455 2005
  • Historical Statistics of the United States  REF HA202 .H57 2006
  • Indian Treaties 1778-1883 REF KF8203 1972 B

MISC

Dictionary of American History
REF E174 .D522 2003 

  NOTE:  The Dictionary of American History is included in the GALE Virtual Reference Library also.

Handbook of North American Indians
Smithsonian Institution
REF E77 .H25 1984

      See Vol. 8 "California"
            Vol. 9 & 10 "Southwest)
            Vol. 13 (Plains)

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
REF E169.1 .E626 2001

      See    Vol. 8, pp.443-445
               Vol. 9,  "Expansion" pp.187-266
               Vol. 9, Maps
           "The United States Expanded" pp. 45-64

© 2011 LaGrange College | 601 Broad Street, LaGrange, GA 30240 | www.lagrange.edu
Default/main header image used:Attribution Some rights reserved