--> Skip to main content

Spanish Research Guide: Literature

An online research guide for students studying Spanish at LaGrange College. Includes research tips, recommended resources, and other helpful information selected by the liaison librarian for Spanish.

Home

Welcome!

Welcome Spanish students! This online research guide was developed just for you, to help assist you in finding the resources through the library which support your studies. The tips, suggestions, and resource links in this guide were hand-picked for you by the Spanish liaison librarian, Charlene Baxter. If you have any questions or need help finding additional resources, please use this guide to contact your librarian, Charlene Baxter. You can do so by using the "Ask-A-Librarian" box on this page, or Charlene's profile box on this page, containing contact information.

Spanish Film Spotlight: Which Way Home

One of the recommended films in the library collection for Spanish students is the documentary Which Way HomeDVD JV6344 .W55 2009. Watch the movie trailer below:

"Traversing more than 1,450 miles upcountry, Mexican freight trains routinely are boarded by migrants hoping to reach America. Among the thousands who ride the trains, many are children traveling alone. They come from all over Mexico and Central America, risking everything for the chance of a better life. Academy Award nominee "Which Way Home" follows some of these unaccompanied children as they make the long and treacherous voyage to the U.S. border. Some, like Olga and Freddy, venture out in search of distant relatives. Others, like Kevin, hope to find work to support their families at home. Often traveling for months or even years at a time, these courageous and determined children each have stories of hope and resilience, disappointment and sorrow. Chronicling the harrowing journey of thousands of migrant children, "Which Way Home" illuminates a powerfully human side of immigration."

New Online Guides!

Language

Grammar

Need help with grammar?  Lots of great e-books on grammar using the subject heading Spanish language and grammar. Check out these titles:

Pronunciation

Need help with pronunciation? Check out our CD collection in the CD PC4110 - 4299 section on top floor: 

Dictionaries

Search the library's online catalog with subject heading “Spanish Language and Dictionaries” for both print and e-book versions of general and specialized dictionaries.  Other dictionaries are also available through GALILEO via virtual reference databases like Credo and Oxford.

Below are a few examples of spanish dictionaries available from collection and GALILEO. If the title of the dictionary is blue, click to access: 

Magazines

Practice your Spanish while browsing periodicals on the library’s top floor, or by checking out articles in the Spanish database of popular magazines: 

Literature

Finding Books

  • To find critical analysis of Spanish literature or a particular author, use the MLA database.

  • To look up books by and about particular authors, link to online catalog. 

  • To browse the shelves, Spanish literature books are found in the PQ6001-8999 section, with Latin American authors specifically in the PQ7100-8599 section.       

Reference

The library has a variety of print reference books realted to the literature of Latin American, and to Latin American authors. These books can be found on the main (2nd) floor of the library in the reference section. Here are a few recommended print reference sources from the collection:

Book Spotlight

Check out the following literature and poetry from Latin American authors in the collection:

Culture & Politics

Travel Books

Check out the browsing travel section on the top floor: 

Selected Databases

Films

Documentary Films

The Spanish-related documentaries in the library video collection cover subjects including:

  • history 

          (Ex: The Aztec empire)

  • literature 

          (Ex: Gabriela Mistral)

  • women’s issues 

          (Ex:  Women of Latin                        America)

  • immigration 

          (Ex: Which Way Home)

Feature Films in Spanish

Feature films are on top floor with call numbers beginning with DVD PN1997.9. Check out the following DVDs from the library collection:

Medical Spanish

Medical Spanish

  • Use online catalog to locate books on cultural issues relating to health care for Hispanic Americans. 
  • Use the subject heading Hispanic Americans and medical care.  
  • Use online catalog to locate books on medical terminology in Spanish.
  • CDs are also available, such as Spanish on the job for healthcare workers
  • Check out the recommended examples below. If the item is an e-book, click the title (in blue) to access:

Children's Books

Children's Books in Spanish

Children's books in Spanish can be found on the top (3rd) floor of the library in the juvenile books section. When browsing the shelves for items, look for call numbers beginning with JUV-SPAN. The following titles are just a handful of the Spanish children's books available from the collection:

Latinas in the United States

Latinas in the United States

When searching for books about Latinas in the United States, use the subject term “Hispanic Americans” to locate books in the online catalog. The library also has online reference sources that may be helpful. Check out these recommended sources below:

Notes

© 2011 LaGrange College | 601 Broad Street, LaGrange, GA 30240 | www.lagrange.edu
Default/main header image used:Attribution Some rights reserved