Music: REFERENCE SOURCES

Includes bibliographical references; an index; and discographies.

The Rock Song Index,Second Edition, is a new version of a well-received index to the classic songs of the rock canon, from the late '40s through the end of the 20th century.

LOCATION: REFERENCE collection on the MAIN LEVEL

The Rock Song Index is a critical discography that lists, alphabetically by group, 7,500 songs. Each entry features composer, producer, year-of-release, label, album and songwriter information; many entries are further supplemented by a brief description placing the song in historical and cultural context. A separate song title index rounds out the volume.

LOCATION: UPPER LEVEL Available to "check out"

This comprehensive two-volume set brings together all aspects of the blues from performers and musical styles to record labels and cultural issues, including regional evolution and history.

LOCATION: REFERENCE collection MAIN LEVEL
Available to "check out"

LOCATION: REFERENCE collection on the MAIN LEVEL

Located in the REFERENCE collection on the MAIN LEVEL

This A-Z biographical reference includes more than 550 entries focusing on artists active from 1990-2003. Individual artists and groups in all popular styles are covered, including those in rock, rhythm and blues, rap, country, electronica, jazz, vocal and crossover classical. Features include select discographies, bibliographies, and a glossary of musical terms.

Located in the REFERENCE collection on the MAIN LEVEL

Over 800 R&B groups are listed alphabetically here, with cross-referencing which allows readers to see when individuals have performed with multiple groups.

Entries include vivid anecdotes from the hit-making artists, songwriters, and producers; a brief history of the song; the chart entry date and position; the number of weeks on the chart; the date the song reached number one; and much more.

LOCATION: STACKS on UPPER LEVEL
Available to "check out"

"Rock and Roll Is Here to Stay" assembles the writing of those who played the music and pushed it to new limits, as well as those who were there to witness and celebrate its power.

LOCATION: STACKS on the UPPER LEVEL