Modern Languages: Ancient Languages

You can search the online catalog for books by or about an author (“Author” search for books by the author, “Subject” search for books about him or her).  You can also browse the PA area (in both Reference and the “Stacks” on the lower level), but the catalog will give you access to e-books as well.

Reference books on Greek literature on the main level include:

• The Homer Encyclopedia (REF PA 4037 .A6 H58 2011, 3 volumes)
• The Encyclopedia of Greek Tragedy (REF PA 3133 .E53 2014, 3 volumes)
• Ancient Greek Authors (REF PA 3064 .A63 1997, also online in the Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online database)
• Ancient Writers:  Greece and Rome (REF PA 3002 .A5 1982, 2 volumes)
• Facts on File Companion to Classical Drama (REF PA 3024 .T488 2005)

Circulating books

You’ll find many Greek authors in translation (with Greek on the facing page) in the Loeb editions with call numbers beginning PA 3612.  Other books by and about Greek authors are shelved alphabetically, for example:

• Aeschylus – call numbers PA 3827 to PA 3829
• Euripides – PA 3973 – PA 3978
• Homer – PA 4025 – PA 4167
• Sophocles – PA 4413 to PA 4417

You’ll also find in the PA area general books on Greek literature, for example:

• Lesky, Albin.  History of Greek Literature.  (PA 3057 .L413 1966; German edition available as an e-book)
• Fowler, R.L.  The Cambridge Companion to Homer.  (PA 4037 .C258 2004) 
• Nagy, Gregory.  The Ancient Greek Hero in 24 Hours.  (PA 3015 .H43 N338 2013)
• Gutzwiller, Kathryn.  A Guide to Hellenistic Literature.  (PA 3081 .G88 2007) 

Books on Greek tragedy are in the PA 3131 area:

• Blackwell Companion to Greek Tragedy (PA 3131 .C56 2005)
• Cambridge Companion to Greek Tragedy (PA 3131 .E28 1997)

Some authors are shelved by genre (Greek historians in the DF area, Greek philosophers in the B area); use the catalog or ask a librarian to find them.

Reference books:

• Greek-English Lexicon (Liddell & Scott) (REF PA 445 .E500 L6 1996)
• Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature (REF PA 881 .B38 2000; based on Arndt & Gingrich)
• A Concise Dictionary of New Testament Greek (REF PA 881 .T744 2003)
  • A Pocket Dictionary for the Study of New Testament Greek (2001) is available as an e-book here
• Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek (REF PA 445 .E5M66 2015)

Grammar books available for checkout on the lower level:

• New Testament Greek (PA 817 .S733 1997)
• Smyth’s Greek Grammar (PA 254 .S5 1984X)

Reference books on Roman literature and authors are in the REF PA area on the main level:

• Ancient Roman Authors (REF PA 6013 .A535 1999, also online in the Dictionary of Literary Biography database)
• Ancient Writers:  Greece and Rome (REF PA 3002 .A5 1982, 2 volumes)
• Oxford Classical Dictionary (REF DE 5 .O9 2012)

Circulating books

For books you can check out on Roman literature, look in the PA area on the lower level (e.g., the Blackwell Companion to Latin Literature, PA 6004 ,C666 2005).

You’ll find many Roman authors in translation (with Latin on the facing page) in the Loeb editions with call numbers beginning PA 6156.  Other books by and about Roman authors are shelved alphabetically, for example:

• Catullus – call numbers PA 6274 to PA 6276
• Ovid – PA 6519 – PA 6537
• Vergil – PA 6802 to PA 6825

You’ll find the following Latin-English dictionaries on the main level of Lewis Library:

• Oxford Latin Dictionary (REF PA 2365 .E500 O9 1982)
• Cassell’s Latin-English English-Latin Dictionary (REF PA 2365 .E55 C3 1977)
• Chambers Murray Latin-English Dictionary (REF PA 2365 .E500 S6 1976)
• Harpers Latin Dictionary, revised by Lewis & Short (REF PA 2365 .E5 A7 1907)

If you want to learn Latin grammar, you’ll find Wheelock’s Latin (call number PA 2087.5 .W444 2000) on the lower level.  For more advanced information on Latin grammar, see Allen and Greenough’s New Latin Grammar (PA 2087 .A525 1991).